123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Apple to release iTV in Q1 2007
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Raid
Member
Member


Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dace wrote:
Couldn't they have integrated iTV into the iPod??

I wouldn't think the iPod has the processing power to handle high-res content. If my 1.6ghz Athlon XP PC couldn't do video at 1024x768, something tells me an iPod can't either.

agruenebaum wrote:
Raid wrote:
I believe a lightly trained monkey would be able to handle frontrow
.

Sorry but my wife and kids (5 - 9 years old) are not able to switch on the macmini and using frontrow or even eyeTV on their own. Though I haven't been able to train our monkey so far.

I can't understand how they would have problems; it's just a menu / list afterall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5986
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raid wrote:
I can't understand how they would have problems; it's just a menu / list afterall.


Not if they have to power up the mini, launch Frontrow and select the input device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
picaman
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 1444
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe the USB port is for the optional CableCard 2.0 dongle.

Hey, I can dream.

Razz

Jamie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SOCOMRAIDER
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2869
Location: Minneapolis

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't be surprised if this thing had some extreme buffer or something. You never know... at $299 it must have something else in there they are not telling... maybe RAM or something for a storage buffer for video. Kind of like how QuickTime trailers don't start for a second or two, after they download enough information in case of download slow down. It might be in the settings for the buffer timing... a second or a few before playing.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raid
Member
Member


Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bandit Bill wrote:
Raid wrote:
I can't understand how they would have problems; it's just a menu / list afterall.


Not if they have to power up the mini, launch Frontrow and select the input device.

You mean press the power button, then 30 seconds later press the menu button on the remote? Not sure what you mean by input device, unless you refer to a TV input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gdog
Member
Member


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 104
Location: H.B. CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: ? Reply with quote

will this allow using tv as a monitor for all mac activities or only for dvd and i tunes. what else is use for the streamer? Twisted Evil
_________________
24 inch core 2 duo, 2.33ghz, 2 gig ram
1 terabyte total ext. hard drive
fios 15000/2000 internet
macbook 2 ghz, 2 gig ram
i got 99 problems but a bitch aint one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5986
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raid wrote:
Bandit Bill wrote:
Raid wrote:
I can't understand how they would have problems; it's just a menu / list afterall.


Not if they have to power up the mini, launch Frontrow and select the input device.

You mean press the power button, then 30 seconds later press the menu button on the remote? Not sure what you mean by input device, unless you refer to a TV input.


That's exactly what I mean. I've seen adults have difficulty selecting a video in source. I understand your point that it is not difficult, but for some people (especially 5 year olds) this can be difficult.

I was over at my girlfriends and she just about blew up just trying to get her DVD player going. I didn't ask... it was just better to stay out of the way Wink

I've seen other people have difficulty when the source button on the top of the Bell Expressvu remote gets accidentally pressed therefore controlling a device other than the satellite receiver.

Look how many VCR's are flashing 12:00 Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SOCOMRAIDER
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2869
Location: Minneapolis

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For just about everyone in my family... I have to go over and hook up all their new equipment, program their new remotes... pretty much even put them to sleep and tuck them in.. Laughing

This is especially true with computers. As everyone in my family basically has one, but no one really understands them other than music and internet. Next week I have to fix my uncle's PC, because his son got a virus on there from downloading too much porn...

I still have family members without DVD players.... Shocked
______________________________
But pretty much all of them... can jump on my G5 iMac and start checking email right away (even without any experience with Macs)... though some of them can never figure out how to print.. Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imfullofit
Member
Member


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1 I can't put my existing movie library into Itunes and use itv to watch what I already own like I can do with Itunes. I know that there are third party solutions but I think this is one reasion why itunes got popular so quickly and this feature is missing here.

2 I am happy that steve is pushing the greedy movie companies hard for a $10 price point. I think it should really be lower considering the low rez format and heavy restrictions on use. This is especially true for 20 year old movies that you can get a used copy of on amazon for $3.

3 I know that all the geeks want HD now but I believe that apple is doing the right thing and going with a lower resolution so we can have 1/2 hour download times on movies. If they offered a HD format and it took 3 hours to get a movie I think few would use this

4. I always wonder why they don't add movies and music that is no longer copy-writed for $.05. I would love to buy some really old movies, songs from the american archives, good pbs content or radio shows from NPR or other places if the cost was low. There is a lot of legally free content out there with no servers to host it.

5. Kind of off topic but the downloadable games for the Ipod are genius.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5986
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

imfullofit wrote:
1 I can't put my existing movie library into Itunes and use itv to watch what I already own like I can do with Itunes. I know that there are third party solutions but I think this is one reasion why itunes got popular so quickly and this feature is missing here.

2 I am happy that steve is pushing the greedy movie companies hard for a $10 price point. I think it should really be lower considering the low rez format and heavy restrictions on use. This is especially true for 20 year old movies that you can get a used copy of on amazon for $3.

3 I know that all the geeks want HD now but I believe that apple is doing the right thing and going with a lower resolution so we can have 1/2 hour download times on movies. If they offered a HD format and it took 3 hours to get a movie I think few would use this

4. I always wonder why they don't add movies and music that is no longer copy-writed for $.05. I would love to buy some really old movies, songs from the american archives, good pbs content or radio shows from NPR or other places if the cost was low. There is a lot of legally free content out there with no servers to host it.

5. Kind of off topic but the downloadable games for the Ipod are genius.


1. We'll have to wait and see.

3. You don't have to download the entire movie to start watching it. The 640*480 movies will start after a 1 minute download. Who knows maybe only 5 minutes would be required for HD.

4. There is a widget that does these old movies for free. I forgot the name. Why would Apple do this? What about bandwidth cost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gmac
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello,

there is something I don't get with that ITV. Thez say you can connect it wirelessly with any computer running itunes (mac or PC)..they also said it will be a dedicated soft "front row like. OK first of all where is located that soft? in the itv or in the linked computer?..more important, when plugged into the TV what can show the itv? only the new soft or the whole computer content? in the first case: too bad, i'd prefer to plug in my LCD a mac mini and be able to surf the internet...in the second case: great but how do you surf with your remote?

maybe the real answer is that the itv shows only the soft on the tv screen except if a mac or a PC is connected in its USB port?

what do you think?

by the way sorry for my english.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
picaman
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 1444
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bandit Bill wrote:
Look how many VCR's are flashing 12:00 Smile


Hey buddy. Stay outta my house Razz

Here's another iTV possibility--it's the product that enables legacy TVs to use PVR features included in Leopard.

The same features that could be used by a new line of Apple HDTVs. Exciting times! It's a possibility, even though I think it may be off-message given that Apple wants to sell you the content.

It seems to me that there's going to have to be an iTV companion piece on the computer end that feeds higher capacity 802.11n to the iTV box. 802.11g/AirPort Extreme isn't fast enough, is it?

Smile

Jamie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gmac
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

picaman wrote:
Bandit Bill wrote:
Look how many VCR's are flashing 12:00 Smile


Hey buddy. Stay outta my house Razz

Here's another iTV possibility--it's the product that enables legacy TVs to use PVR features included in Leopard.

The same features that could be used by a new line of Apple HDTVs. Exciting times! It's a possibility, even though I think it may be off-message given that Apple wants to sell you the content.

It seems to me that there's going to have to be an iTV companion piece on the computer end that feeds higher capacity 802.11n to the iTV box. 802.11g/AirPort Extreme isn't fast enough, is it?

Smile

Jamie


no maybe it will be built in the new mini's withe core 2 duo

but I don't get how you ca combine itv and a mac mini..if you leave the mini in the living room how do you connect it to the tv cause the itv take the vga...

if you only plug the itv in the tv, what do you get on tv? only the new software?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scarpad
Member
Member


Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raid wrote:
You realise just how much cheaper it'll be to bring your mini downstairs and plug it in directly, right? Razz


Thats what I was working on Doing, but it's somewhat of a pain to put my Mini, Ministack, and 2 500gb drives near my TV, with this I can leave them where they are, and just put in a little unobtrusive box. Plus it has a Component and HDMI Output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doug Eldred
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 833
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sparkstack wrote:

One thing i want to know is what the USB socket is for...


At a guess - nothing as glamorous as USB disks or EyeTV, it's for a keyboard for configuration. You'd almost have to configure SOME stuff, initially, such as network SSID and password, unless it only works with unsecured networks or somehow bypasses all security, which I doubt. You might also need a keyboard for occasional maintenance - software updates, etc.

Once it's set up, you probably don't need to use anything but the Apple Remote.

Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.