123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

mac mini 1.25G4 how to display 1366x768 HDTV
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
downset
New Member
New Member


Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:28 am    Post subject: mac mini 1.25G4 how to display 1366x768 HDTV Reply with quote

hello,

i just bought a HDTV Orion TV32008 with native resolution of 1366 x 768

when i connect my mini to it with a dvi --> hdmi cable, it displays perfectly but with a little black border around it in 1280x720

i tried configuring things with displayconfigx, but whatever i do i cant get the resolution to 1366 x 768

i tried to add it in displayconfigX manually, i choose 720p wich defaults to 1280x720 and changed the resolution to 1366x768 but the screen goes black, i was a little afraid to change any other settings.

any ideas on how to get this thin on 720p 1366x768?


Last edited by downset on Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:22 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bobajobbob
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem and have yet to find a solution so I am using a VGA connection for the time being. Using VGa the mini detects the correct resolution and the TV automatically. I ahve no idea why it doesn't work with DVI/HDMI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
downset
New Member
New Member


Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there any way to maybe get all the correct settings when you are connected with the vga cable and then copy them when connected with dvi/hdmi? using either displayconfigx or switchresx?

i have no vga cable so i cant test this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bobajobbob
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be though I am not sure how to do it. Perhaps someone more technical could advise on this. The mini actually recognises the TV through VGA and applies a specific colour profile as well as offering all the normal resolution options up to the native res of the TV. When I plug in via HDMI it does not recognise the TV and only offers 1270, 1024 and 800 with a number of additonal features including overscan.

I am led to believe through a number of posts on a number of boards that it is simply nto possible to run native via HDMI. I can use 1270 (or somethign liek that) and overscan it losing some of the screen, I can disable overscan and have it natively displayed but with black bars around the image or I can choose 1024 which perfectly fills the screen but is not native and is obviously stretched.

None of the above seemed better than simply using the VGA connection. It is not crystal clear as I would expect from a DVI connection however when you are sitting on the sofa 3 metres from a 32" screen I am not sure it really matters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
downset
New Member
New Member


Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i borowed a vga cable at work

with the vga cable my orion 32inch is recognised as a vga display
and i can only select standard vga resolutions, most experiments in switchres ended up with blackscreen, im using the TV with HDMI at 1280x720 for now that is the best i can get

any other tips would be welcome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5985
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try DisplayConfig X:

I just searched "resolution" on versiontracker.com

http://www.versiontracker.com/php/search.php?mode=basic&action=search&str=resolution&plt%5B%5D=macosx&x=0&y=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
downset
New Member
New Member


Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried both displayconfigx and switchresx

no luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CJMclean
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi guys,

u guys would have better luck searching the apple discussion forum.
under mac mini, in the Using Displays with the Mac mini section.
i believe from what i have read, lcd tvs usually just have pc support thru VGA. DVI and HDMI, u would have to tweak.
I gave up as it became too troublesome and just carried on using VGA.
Have fun trying!!

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5985
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CJMclean wrote:
u guys would have better luck searching the apple discussion forum.


How do you justify a statement like this? Just be patient. If there is an answer you'll eventually find it here. I'm not saying don't go to the Apple forums. By all means do so. If you find an answer make sure you come back to 123macmini and share your findings.

Many of the users on this forum (including myself) enjoy helping people. If we don't know the answer to something we often go out and do research on your behalf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SOCOMRAIDER
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2869
Location: Minneapolis

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bandit Bill wrote:
Many of the users on this forum (including myself) enjoy helping people. If we don't know the answer to something we often go out and do research on your behalf.

Some of us are just better at finding info, etc.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CJMclean
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apologies to whom i have offended, maybe if i rephrase myself....
it would be easier to do a search in the apple forum as i have previously mention, there's existing thread on similar issues.
Sorry again fellas Embarassed
cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bwanac
Member
Member


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have found my set-up only works properly with the DVI connected.

I could never get it res'd right with just VGA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarleenMB
New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Wyoming

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. Pardon me while I hijack this thread.

I just now tried to connect my Mac Mini (last year's model 1.42 GHz) to our Hitachi HDTV. The picture was GREAT except for one little problem.

The menu bar and the dock were cropped out of the picture.

I went into the display prefs and set them to the next lower res hoping that would fix it but no go. I double checked my tv settings and they were on 16:9

any hints?

also, any suggestions for an audio out cable would be appreciated.

And yes, I used a DVI cable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
solomons
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try turning off overscan in the options tab in the Prefs under Displays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarleenMB
New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Wyoming

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I don't see that option while the mini is hooked up to my old CRT but next time I hook it up the tv I'll try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.