123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Looks like Windows 8 is Clone-able, well, sorta'

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Alternative Operating Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
billb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 1318
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:59 pm    Post subject: Looks like Windows 8 is Clone-able, well, sorta' Reply with quote

For those Mac users who have been using and enjoying
the benefits of making Bootable Clones by using Carbon Copy Cloner
or Super Duper.......you can now do something similar
with Windows 8 by using Microsoft sanctioned software.
I guess Bill & Company are not as stupid as they have
led us to believe in the past or is it that they are just
stealing more than looks from other OSes. Anyway,
this is great news for Windows users. It looks like
you can clone Windows all the way back to XP.

The cool thing is the software that creates Bootable
Windows Drives also creates Linux Bootable Drives.
Creating Bootable Linux Drives has become tedious in
the the past couple of years.......not any more.
_________________
2011 Mac mini 2.7 GHz i7 with
16GB RAM, Samsung 512GB SSD
MacBook AIR 11 Inch
Mac mini, Model 1.1, 2.33 GHz C2D Proc
20" iMac G4 PPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ez061111
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 925

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps I misunerstand, but the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool is what i used to install Windows 7 on a DVD-less MBP...the page you link to isn't cloning software, just for allowing boot of an ISO from a USB drive
_________________
2.0 GHz i7 Mini 8 GB RAM, OWC Merc Extreme SSD & Samsung Spinpoint
2.6 GHz i7 Mini 16 GB RAM, Samsung 830 & Hitachi
15" 2.3 GHz i7 MBP 16 GB RAM, OWC Extreme Pro 6G SSD & WD Black
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 1318
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:39 am    Post subject: Sorta' Reply with quote

ez061111 wrote:
Perhaps I misunerstand...the page you link to isn't cloning software, just for allowing boot of an ISO from a USB drive

Right.....thats why I put "sorta" in the title.
This is the closest Windows has been, officially.
WinToFlash & Rufus come the closest to what we have
but its still not quite the same and for Linux
its UNetbootin. I'll probably be buying Win8 so
I think I may give Rufus a try.
_________________
2011 Mac mini 2.7 GHz i7 with
16GB RAM, Samsung 512GB SSD
MacBook AIR 11 Inch
Mac mini, Model 1.1, 2.33 GHz C2D Proc
20" iMac G4 PPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MJL
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use the diskutil utility in Windows to make a bootable USB drive. I've done this many years ago with Acronis and several times with Windows install DVD's. Nothing new with those utilities except going from a genuine Windows command line interface to some third party utility (and who knows what else is included with those utilities).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 1318
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:45 am    Post subject: Acronis Reply with quote

Acronis..........I forgot about Acronis.
Its extradinary but not bootable, at least
I don't remember it being bootable. I'll
have to look into that........Acronis!

Thanks for your valuable input!
_________________
2011 Mac mini 2.7 GHz i7 with
16GB RAM, Samsung 512GB SSD
MacBook AIR 11 Inch
Mac mini, Model 1.1, 2.33 GHz C2D Proc
20" iMac G4 PPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind! Google is a powerful ally!

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 705
Location: A large Island called Vancouver

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Acronis Reply with quote

billb wrote:
Acronis..........I forgot about Acronis.
Its extradinary but not bootable, at least
I don't remember it being bootable. I'll
have to look into that........Acronis!

Thanks for your valuable input!


Some others I've used in the past...
Norton Ghost
DriveImage,
and there were others I tried, all of them gave me 'bootable' backups.
_________________
"I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol was a man nailed to two pieces of wood"
-George Carlin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
billb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 1318
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:54 pm    Post subject: Windows Clone Bootable Reply with quote

I will soon be in need of a Windows Laptop/Notebook.
I've HATED EVERYTHING Windows has done from Vista
on. Acronis was a program I was going to automatically
buy. Please correct me if I'm wrong (I'm wrong a lot).
An Acronis backup/clone will trigger the need for a new
authorization number from Windows if its moved to a
new PC, because we're all lying cheating thieves trying
to steal from Bill Gates and Paul Allen. Of course if its
moved back to the PC it was created from then a new
authorization number may not be needed but could be
because we're all lying, cheating..........

Have I got that right?

I'm going to buy a new PC soon. I have a 500GB SSD
lying around. I was going to buy a new PC and install
the 500GB SSD "before" I boot it for the first time. What
would be the "best" way to clone/move the virgin Windows
un-booted OS in the removed HD to the PC with my fresh/blank
but formatted SSD that i've installed in the new unbooted PC.

I'm asking this poorly but I think you know what I mean.
Ever since my latest heart attack I'm unable to put my thoughts
in writing like I use to, sorry.

I want a new laptop which I will install a slightly used 500GB
SSD thats freshly formatted. Whats the BEST way to move the
original unbooted OS from the removed HD to the freshly formated
and installed SSD. Is Acronis the answer and how would I use it?
The Acronis web site wasn't helpful. I guess the best thing would
be to contact Acronis.

Thanks!
_________________
2011 Mac mini 2.7 GHz i7 with
16GB RAM, Samsung 512GB SSD
MacBook AIR 11 Inch
Mac mini, Model 1.1, 2.33 GHz C2D Proc
20" iMac G4 PPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was one of the things I looked up. It won't need a new serial number, but it might have to go through the Windows Genuine Advantage bs.

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
billb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 1318
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:28 am    Post subject: More than one component Reply with quote

I know that if only one (hardware) component
is changed (upgraded) its not supposed to trigger
the Windows Genuine Advantage BS but sadly
because we're all a bunch of lying cheating....
Thank you Bill & Paul!

BUT what method would YOU use to clone the
original unbooted HD to the 500GB SSD?
_________________
2011 Mac mini 2.7 GHz i7 with
16GB RAM, Samsung 512GB SSD
MacBook AIR 11 Inch
Mac mini, Model 1.1, 2.33 GHz C2D Proc
20" iMac G4 PPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Alternative Operating Systems All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.