123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Password Problems

Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Networking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Smallwheels

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 10:12 pm    Post subject: Password Problems Reply with quote

I'm new to using a wireless router. I hooked up the Mac Book and turned on the Airport. It recognized the network set up by my roommate long ago. I typed the password into an Apple dialogue box and it worked. It worked fine for three weeks.

Today the internet stopped. I turned the Linksys E1000 off and on to reset it. When I tried to reconnect I see that the signal is good. Then I typed in a URL and it took me to a Cisco page asking for the password. I typed it in and it is not being accepted. I plugged the Mac Book into the router with an ethernet cable and the hard connection works and does not require a password. Does anybody know why this is happening? Since this is such a popular router I'm hoping someone here has experience with it.

Right now my computer is plugged directly into the Linksys router using one of the four ethernet ports.

Since this router doesn't belong to me I don't have total control over it and can't mess with it. It is not in my room so I can't remain connected to it all of the time.

I do have a question about it. Can I buy my own router and plug it into the ethernet port of the Linksys wireless router and have my own working wireless system? The modem from the cable internet company has only one ethernet port and it is connected to the existing router.

Would my routers wireless signal mess up the other signal and vica versa?