123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

macmini wont connect to Philips HDTV

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mcdseven
New Member
New Member


Joined: 27 Apr 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:46 pm    Post subject: macmini wont connect to Philips HDTV Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

Have a 1.42 Macmini with Tiger. I am trying to connect it to a Philips 42PFL9703D with a DVI to HDMI adaptor. I am getting a blank screen with the message 'unsuported video format'. I have select the side HDMI port and seleted PC in the settings for that port. Any suggestions?

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried the VGA connection?

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duplicate post.

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!


Last edited by Smithcraft on Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mcdseven
New Member
New Member


Joined: 27 Apr 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smithcraft wrote:
Have you tried the VGA connection?

SC


Thanks for the reply, unfortunately my model does not have a VGA connection.

Full link here to my model

http://download.p4c.philips.com/files/4/42pfl9703d_10/42pfl9703d_10_dfu_eng.pdf

I'll keep digging and see what I come with.


Last edited by mcdseven on Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:24 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure that's the link you wanted...

Maybe this one?
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?slg=en&scy=au&ctn=42PFL9703D/79

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mcdseven
New Member
New Member


Joined: 27 Apr 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smithcraft wrote:
I'm not sure that's the link you wanted...

Maybe this one?
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?slg=en&scy=au&ctn=42PFL9703D/79

SC


jaysus... to early in the morning having had coffee yet, thanks Smithcraft!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both manuals show a VGA connection. I did see a model of teevee some had where different connection options were available as original purchase options.

In theory HDMI is a glorified DVI connection, however I have not found that to be the case.

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mcdseven
New Member
New Member


Joined: 27 Apr 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smithcraft wrote:
Both manuals show a VGA connection. I did see a model of teevee some had where different connection options were available as original purchase options.

In theory HDMI is a glorified DVI connection, however I have not found that to be the case.

SC


have read all their mauals on connectiosn and am goign to attempt it again. Wish me look. Thanks for looking.

Mcd7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcdseven
New Member
New Member


Joined: 27 Apr 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smithcraft wrote:
Both manuals show a VGA connection. I did see a model of teevee some had where different connection options were available as original purchase options.

In theory HDMI is a glorified DVI connection, however I have not found that to be the case.

SC


ok so heres an update, followed Philips instructions to the letter and hey presto got the apple screen and a few line running though, fiddle around with the connection to make sure its was in properly and hey presto! One beuatiful screen with the perfect fit. Couldn't believe it. After a few minutes got the lines again so I restarted so I am back to square one, 'Unsurported Video Format' do you guys think it could be the DVI adaptor? Its not the most expensive one if the truth be told, could this be causing the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcdseven
New Member
New Member


Joined: 27 Apr 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 4:28 am    Post subject: Problem Resolved Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

Got the problem resolved! Used VNC from another MAC to change the screen resolution on the macmini. I picked the screen resolution 1280x720 (50 hertz refresh rate) and overscan on in the display settings.

Then I adjusted the settings on the Philips TV and selected Autozoom.

Hope this helps anyone in the same position. Thanks to Smithcraft for the help, much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I missed the update, but I'm glad it worked out for you!

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.