123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New To HTPC

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
macsure
New Member
New Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:31 am    Post subject: New To HTPC Reply with quote

MM Spec's
Processor: 2.53 intel core 2 duo
Memory: 4 GB 1067 DDR3

running Snow leopard

So I kinda half jumped in to this as I am always abit cautious of do this stuffed, But after scanning this forums I felt confident to go ahead.
Step one: Plug in Audio leads. I plugged one end into the MM (Speaker socket) and the other into left and right channels on my Yamaha Receiver.

Opened itunes played a mp3 just to see if sounds would work, And it did kinda, At low levels I could hear music, But as I turn up the volume on the receiver, it triggered the power cut switch and turn off.

Can some one please help me, Or at least steer me in the right direction

Thankyou in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philiparcario
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2006
Posts: 4573
Location: Howell NJ USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

show us the cable you used to hook the gear up. If it is a good cable


I think you may have had the settings wrong on audio preferences . you were sending a very low signal to the amp/reciever then you cranked the receiver and set its protect switch to off. Yammies will turn off rather then fry themselves. The gear box on the dock is system preference box. It has a cone/woofer for sound click it. if you have the correct cable it should show . some choices for sound output.
_________________
2010 Mm 2.4 C2D oem 320gb hdd 8gb ram
2012Mm base 2.5 with 16gb ram diy fusion drive
2012Mm quad with 8gb ram oem 1tb hdd

promise pegasus r6 3x 3tb + 3x 4tb =21tb hdds
lacie little big disk 2x 512gb ssds
synology 2tb disk station
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
macsure
New Member
New Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

philiparcario wrote:
show us the cable you used to hook the gear up. If it is a good cable

I just bought some cheap cables: https://www.proaudiovisual.com.au/home/rca-cables/rca-to-35mm/273-15m-35mm-plug-to-stereo-audio-2-rca-female-cable.html

I think you may have had the settings wrong on audio preferences . you were sending a very low signal to the amp/reciever then you cranked the receiver and set its protect switch to off. Yammies will turn off rather then fry themselves. The gear box on the dock is system preference box. It has a cone/woofer for sound click it. if you have the correct cable it should show . some choices for sound output.


Heres a snaplook of my ouput setting http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9048678/soundout.tiff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philiparcario
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2006
Posts: 4573
Location: Howell NJ USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well it looks like it is pretty much okay. your left right balance is a bit off, but still should work. still there are some more volume settings..in itunes what was your volume setting. maybe it was too low and you cranked the receiver up to make up the volume.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

??

you have an itunes volume setting We don't know what it is yet.


??
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
you have a speaker out setting and it looks correct your snap shot shows that.

good

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
the yammie volume too high to make up for weak signal

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

go to itunes and look for volume settings .


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
also do you know how to get to the equalizer setting in itunes they can make the signal lower or louder.


-- __------------------------------------
_________________
2010 Mm 2.4 C2D oem 320gb hdd 8gb ram
2012Mm base 2.5 with 16gb ram diy fusion drive
2012Mm quad with 8gb ram oem 1tb hdd

promise pegasus r6 3x 3tb + 3x 4tb =21tb hdds
lacie little big disk 2x 512gb ssds
synology 2tb disk station
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
macsure
New Member
New Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have an itunes volume setting We don't know what it is yet.

I had in the middle and it cut out. I had it i fill and it cut out.

------------------------------------------------------------------
you have a speaker out setting and it looks correct your snap shot shows that.

good
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
the yammie volume too high to make up for weak signal

Dont know what u mean here Sad
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

go to itunes and look for volume settings .


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
also do you know how to get to the equalizer setting in itunes they can make the signal lower or louder.

Yes and played with that no luck either

-- __------------------------------------[/quote]


Ehat I have observed is; I plug it into my Ipad and the some thing happens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philiparcario
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2006
Posts: 4573
Location: Howell NJ USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

macsure wrote:
you have an itunes volume setting We don't know what it is yet.

I had in the middle and it cut out. I had it i fill and it cut out.

------------------------------------------------------------------
so when set medium or high the yammie shut off.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
the yammie volume too high to make up for weak signal

Dont know what u mean here Sad If the signal going to the yamaha is low and you crank the volume up the amp shut off
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

go to itunes and look for volume settings .


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


-- __------------------------------------


what I have observed is; I plug it into my Ipad and the some thing happens


lets take the mac out and talk about the yammie (yamaha) exact make and model number is? I need to pull up a manual and look at it. you may have something set on the yammie causing the problem.
_________________
2010 Mm 2.4 C2D oem 320gb hdd 8gb ram
2012Mm base 2.5 with 16gb ram diy fusion drive
2012Mm quad with 8gb ram oem 1tb hdd

promise pegasus r6 3x 3tb + 3x 4tb =21tb hdds
lacie little big disk 2x 512gb ssds
synology 2tb disk station


Last edited by philiparcario on Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
macsure
New Member
New Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this is what I tried last night:

I played around with all the setting on mac mini. Midi and in sound prefference, But not luck.
So I decided to by pass the amp. I plugged, using rca leads into the tv it self ( sound only ) and I can have the sound up as loud as u want. I played a mp3, mp4 movie, and even utube

My Yamaha is old I think, so no digital fittings that I could see.
Model is Rx 590 , Was up there in its day ( 10 odd years ago mb more)

BTW thankyou for you time and help

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philiparcario
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2006
Posts: 4573
Location: Howell NJ USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so bypass of the amp works.

is this the amp?

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v590_black__u/?mode=model


and is this the manual?

http://www2.yamaha.co.jp/manual/pdf/av/english/re/RX-V590.pdf
_________________
2010 Mm 2.4 C2D oem 320gb hdd 8gb ram
2012Mm base 2.5 with 16gb ram diy fusion drive
2012Mm quad with 8gb ram oem 1tb hdd

promise pegasus r6 3x 3tb + 3x 4tb =21tb hdds
lacie little big disk 2x 512gb ssds
synology 2tb disk station
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
macsure
New Member
New Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes Sir, That is the amp.
Yes Sir, That is the manual too
and yes, If I dont use the amp all is well.

I am off too the apple store to purchase one of theses to get visual

http://store.apple.com/au/product/M9319G/A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.