123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Puma won't reconigize built in ethernet card

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac OS X
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jrb599
Member
Member


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 196
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:10 am    Post subject: Puma won't reconigize built in ethernet card Reply with quote

I have it plugged in and I know the router/wire are good. I just installed Puma - do I have settings missed up? It's a G4 Power Mac

Does some one just have a copy of Leopard they want to give me Razz
_________________
1.83 Core Duo
2gb RAM
320 gig WD Firewire External
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
macmanmacman
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok you still might have some issues..


1. puma is no longer supported and you wouldnt be able to go online because puma uses internet explorer which is no longer used.


2. can your g4 support leopard if your g4 isnt a 867 mhz or faster g4 your in trouble

But fear not young mac owner there is a solution that can save your day if your g4 is a 800mhz g4 you can use leopard assist to install leopard on your macintosh.

and yes it does work i have done it on several imac g4 800mhz machines no issues
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 702
Location: A large Island called Vancouver

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

macmanmacman wrote:

1. puma is no longer supported and you wouldnt be able to go online because puma uses internet explorer which is no longer used.


Internet Explorer would not stop the OP from going online, IE works as good today as it ever has, it just is no longer supported.

I still have it on one of my hobby systems and just fired it up to check.
Yep, I still can get online.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3234
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All you have to do is change the default home page to something that exists, and IE works. I don't know if it works on newer versions of OS X though.

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac OS X All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.