123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Update-DVD Will Not Mount -Fairmount, Handbrake Aver 4Media

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac OS X
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dino1956
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1194

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:42 pm    Post subject: Update-DVD Will Not Mount -Fairmount, Handbrake Aver 4Media Reply with quote

Has anyone tried ripping a DVD to their Hard Drive using Fairmount or Handbrake, since they updated to 10.6.3 ?

2 Macs = Disc won't Mount.

First I thought it was my iMac's Superdrive. But tried it on my Mini & same thing.
_________________
iMac 27" 3.06 8GB ATI 4670 1TB HD
Mac Mini 1.83 Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB 80 GB
Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz i5 8 GB Ram 500 GB HD
Power Mac G5 1.8 GHz
Apple TV 3rd Gen
Time Capsule 1st Gen 2TB

http://www.soundclick.com/members/default.cfm?member=Dino1956
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3109
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 10.6.2 on the iMac and 10.6.3 on the MBP. So I'll give it a quick try.
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3109
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just loaded Handbrake onto my MBP (10.6.3) and its ripping a DVD to HDD ok on my system.

BTW I don't have that many DVDs, so the one I picked probably doesn't have any fancy protection system on it, but it seems to be ripping to HDD ok.

I did approx 10minutes of the main feature and then aborted it and the ripped and encoded AppleTV file is playing back fine.
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dino1956
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1194

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea I tried on both machines. New DVD. At first I thought it was my iMac. I'm glad it's not! Smile Thanks.
_________________
iMac 27" 3.06 8GB ATI 4670 1TB HD
Mac Mini 1.83 Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB 80 GB
Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz i5 8 GB Ram 500 GB HD
Power Mac G5 1.8 GHz
Apple TV 3rd Gen
Time Capsule 1st Gen 2TB

http://www.soundclick.com/members/default.cfm?member=Dino1956
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Dino1956
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1194

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cypher, I downloaded the new Handbrake. It's 64 Bit & asking for VLC to be 64 Bit. Is there a 32 Bit Version of Handbrake or a 64 Bit Version of VLC? Can't find.
_________________
iMac 27" 3.06 8GB ATI 4670 1TB HD
Mac Mini 1.83 Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB 80 GB
Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz i5 8 GB Ram 500 GB HD
Power Mac G5 1.8 GHz
Apple TV 3rd Gen
Time Capsule 1st Gen 2TB

http://www.soundclick.com/members/default.cfm?member=Dino1956
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Y-Guy
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 484
Location: Tri-Cities, WA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use an older 64bit version of VLC, v1.02 - works fine.
http://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/1.0.2/macosx/vlc-1.0.2-intel64.dmg
_________________
iMac 24" 2.4 GHz 4GB | Logitech S530 | Z-2300 speakers | NewerTech Guardian MAXimus RAID
MacMini HTPC 2.26 GHz 2GB | Panasonic Plasma TV | Logitech diNovo Edge | Mercury Elite-AL Pro 800
AppleTV1 unhacked | Panasonic LCD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3109
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dino1956 wrote:
Cypher, I downloaded the new Handbrake. It's 64 Bit & asking for VLC to be 64 Bit. Is there a 32 Bit Version of Handbrake or a 64 Bit Version of VLC? Can't find.


Yes there is a 32bit version of Handbrake. I had the same problem you mentioned but I was sure I had been using 64bit on the iMac pre reformat. When I installed 64bit Handbrake on the MBP I got the same message about VLC not being 64bit I had v1.05 installed, so I switched to the 32bit version.


Y-Guy wrote:
I use an older 64bit version of VLC, v1.02 - works fine.


That explains why I had 64bit Handbrake running before but could get it going this time.
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac OS X All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.