123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Planning to be a Mac Mini user soon - a few questions.
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> New Users and Switchers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Voyager

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:53 am    Post subject: Planning to be a Mac Mini user soon - a few questions. Reply with quote

I'm looking to get a Mac Mini soon.

The back story is that I have an aged old PC (I've been using it since I built it sometime in 2000!) it has noisy fans and disks and it is driving my wife nuts! So since I have been given an ultimatum to 'get rid of it', not the end of the world as it really is getting a bit flaky (understatement!), I have decided that a change to a Mac would be a good idea. I have some experience with using them but only really with problem solving users with laptops and iMac's and not 'hardware' related.

I guess that with a Mini I can continue to use my perfectly serviceable Iiyama Vision Master Pro 450 CRT monitor with a mini DVI to VGA Adapter - even though Apple specifically don't mention the Mac Mini with the product? Or must I use a mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter? I guess the question is really - will the monitor be recognised and work on either port and is there any benefit using one over the other? (One other question about monitors is that I've seen that some people are using two monitors as a duel display on a Mac Mini - how do they do that?)