123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

What program do you use to rip Dvd's to your harddrive?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Benchmob31
Member
Member


Joined: 08 Jan 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:12 am    Post subject: What program do you use to rip Dvd's to your harddrive? Reply with quote

Im working on turning my mini into a htpc and wanted to start adding dvds to my external harddrive and did not know which program i should use to rip them. Any ideas would be appreciated.
_________________
MacBook Pro 2.53 GHz, 500 GB HD, 4GB RAM
Mac mini 1.83GHz, 320GB HD, 4GB RAM
iPhone 4, 32GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeaLawyer
Member
Member


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 106
Location: Bella Napoli

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:48 am    Post subject: Re: What program do you use to rip Dvd's to your harddrive? Reply with quote

Do a search here for RipIt. You'll find lots of info. I tried MTR (the free version) and Fairmount, but liked RipIt the best.
_________________
First (but not last) Mac: 2.0 Ghz Mini w/4MB Ram, SD, 120GB HD + FW800 Drobo w/3.6TB useable storage
Connected via: DVI Detective Plus
To: Hitachi 42" L42X02A 100/120 Hz Multi-system LCD TV (SPECTACULAR picture!!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mac fanatic
New Member
New Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

handbrake and its free.

It now has a "Apple Universal" format that you can use to put the movie on your ipod, iphone, ATV, etc.
_________________
Mini Core Duo, Panasonic 50px80u, wireless kb and mouse, Harmon Kardon 7.3 surround, and 76" projector screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghostdawg
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 1413
Location: STLMO (usa)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like and use MacTheRipper.
_________________
G4 Mac Mini | 1.25ghz | 1gb | 40gb | OS X 10.4.11 | 37" Westinghouse HDTV
AAOne | 1.6ghz | 1gb | 160gb | Mageia 2 & Win XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
usarcher
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghostdawg wrote:
I like and use MacTheRipper.

+1

Then Handbrake it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1gkek
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RipIt and Handbrake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquafire
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Sep 2007
Posts: 2372
Location: AUS-USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to me, that one can use Disk Utility..

Or Disk Copy using the olde Mac OS 9...

Or am I wrong in thinking this...?

Aqua
_________________
Of the four X systems in the world.

Which would you choose?

OS X : LinuX : UniX or MS-BolloX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's possible, but with the bs DRM that they are using on DVDs now, you might end up with a 200GB disc image.

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Aquafire
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Sep 2007
Posts: 2372
Location: AUS-USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smithcraft wrote:
It's possible, but with the bs DRM that they are using on DVDs now, you might end up with a 200GB disc image.

SC


Not sure why you'd end up with a 200 GB disk image.

I just tried it... Disk Utility copied the Documentary DVD and it only came to 7.4 Gb.

But now I need a DVD diisk to take that amount of stuff.

Aqua
_________________
Of the four X systems in the world.

Which would you choose?

OS X : LinuX : UniX or MS-BolloX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghostdawg
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 1413
Location: STLMO (usa)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aqua, I guess DU didn't do any compression. You could put it on a dual layer dvd disc if your burner offer dual layer burning.

I assume other programs such as MTR, Handbrake etc does compress also.
_________________
G4 Mac Mini | 1.25ghz | 1gb | 40gb | OS X 10.4.11 | 37" Westinghouse HDTV
AAOne | 1.6ghz | 1gb | 160gb | Mageia 2 & Win XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Wedge
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 325
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MTR and RipIt are simply rippers, no compression.

HandBrake doesn't output DVD files, so it's not a ripper, it's a reencoder.

DU will certainly work, however as soon as you go to play back the disc, it may fail. If the original disc was encoded with CSS copy protection, DU doesn't remove that information correctly, so it'll fail. Hence the reason why people use rippers -- to remove copy protection from DVDs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghostdawg
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 1413
Location: STLMO (usa)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh, encryption is what I was thinking about when I was typing it...not sure how compression got in there. Thanks for clearing it up for me and Aqua.
_________________
G4 Mac Mini | 1.25ghz | 1gb | 40gb | OS X 10.4.11 | 37" Westinghouse HDTV
AAOne | 1.6ghz | 1gb | 160gb | Mageia 2 & Win XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5391
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've actually been using the free version of DVDFab in Boot Camp for Video TS. It's super fast and rips everything. To be honest, I don't feel like monkeying around with MTR anymore. I still use HandBrake for going to MPEG though. You can't beat that application with a stick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smithcraft
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 3236
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aquafire wrote:
Smithcraft wrote:
It's possible, but with the bs DRM that they are using on DVDs now, you might end up with a 200GB disc image.

SC


Not sure why you'd end up with a 200 GB disk image.

I just tried it... Disk Utility copied the Documentary DVD and it only came to 7.4 Gb.

But now I need a DVD diisk to take that amount of stuff.

Aqua

One of the new schemes creates bogus sections on the disc, and you end up with a 200GB rip.

Devo, I was told it's bad manners to mention Windows apps at this forum! Otherwise, I would have mentioned AnyDVD much earlier.

SC
_________________
Grumpy old man of computing.

[Desktop] Intel mini - 2.16Ghz 2GB 60GB HDD - Newer miniStack v2 500GB - 10.5.8

[Media System] Intel i5 mini - 2.33Ghz 8GB 500GB HDD - 4 x Hitachi 2TB HDD in a qBOX-SF - 10.7.5 (Thanks Phil!)

Make sure it has pins!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Aquafire
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Sep 2007
Posts: 2372
Location: AUS-USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smithcraft wrote:

Devo, I was told it's bad manners to mention Windows apps at this forum! Otherwise, I would have mentioned AnyDVD much earlier.

SC


Arrgh hemmm...

Its not bad manners to mention Windows (Baal) products or to use them.

It's just bad form to worship them...or make craven images of their creators.

Lest we forget what our Messiah Steve "Moses" Jobs said..



"Thou shalt not worship false OS Gods.

For I took thee out of the land of thine oppressors and made thee a people who have partaken of the Apple"

OSXODUS. 2.1.03/



Aqua Razz
_________________
Of the four X systems in the world.

Which would you choose?

OS X : LinuX : UniX or MS-BolloX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini HTPC All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.