123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Boxee Announces Public Alpha for Mac and Apple TV Users

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 2191
Location: U.S.A

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 7:43 pm    Post subject: Boxee Announces Public Alpha for Mac and Apple TV Users Reply with quote

Boxee Announces Public Alpha for Mac and Apple TV Users
Thursday, January 8, 2009
Posted by: Glenn

Boxee today released the first public alpha of their media center software for Mac and Apple TV users. New applications in this release include Joost, MTV Music, and the BBC iPlayer for users in the UK. It also includes new keyboard support and numerous bug fixes and enhancements. The specific changes are all listed down below. Boxee also launched developer.boxee.tv today, which provides basic guidelines for developers who want to build apps to run on Boxee.

The new keyboard support includes:
- CMD + TAB - lets you switch to other Mac apps (even when boxee is in full screen)
- CMD + F - toggles between Window mode and Full screen.
- Shift + letter - jump to the place in the list that starts with that letter (e.g. shift+h will save you a bunch of clicks to get to Heroes on Hulu)

The bug fixes and enhancements include:
- Dual screen support
- Netflix streaming improvements
- Search in Hulu
- Fast forward, rewind, pause in Comedy Central
- Improved mouse support
- 3 digits episode numbers recognized
- Giving folder.jpg its proper priority
- Updates to SMB library
- Updates to video and audio playback libraries
- Updates to Flash player



http://www.123macmini.com/news/story/1115.html


Last edited by admin on Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ben Tex
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1463
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This application keeps getting better and better and better. Cool

By the way, I was listening to the MacBreak Weekly 122 podcast from Macworld the other night and someone mentioned he was running Boxee on a Mac mini with Hazel and a Drobo. I don't have a Drobo, but it sure sounded like a cool setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zalez
Member
Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 109
Location: Montclair, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could be missing something within Boxee, but is there a way to stream the higher quality Hulu videos? I was just streaming some Office and 30 Rock episodes and they looked horrible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curt
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 1456
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zalez wrote:
I could be missing something within Boxee, but is there a way to stream the higher quality Hulu videos? I was just streaming some Office and 30 Rock episodes and they looked horrible.

You need to go into your Hulu account and change the video setting to automatically default to the 480p stream. That's in the "Privacy and Settings" -> "Personal Settings" in your profile. Then you just login into you Hulu account through Boxee.
_________________
My Setup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
macmanmacman
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 1845

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Question!!!

Does hulu Stream through it's own application or through a quicktime plugin.

The reason i ask is i tried hulu at a higher setting and the video still looked like garbage.

it kept distorting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zalez
Member
Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 109
Location: Montclair, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

curt wrote:
You need to go into your Hulu account and change the video setting to automatically default to the 480p stream. That's in the "Privacy and Settings" -> "Personal Settings" in your profile. Then you just login into you Hulu account through Boxee.

I thought that I read something about it automatically defaulting to the 480p stream, but then I wasn't sure if it played them at all. Your suggestion appears to have done the trick though. Thanks Curt!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zen
Member
Member


Joined: 05 Oct 2007
Posts: 151
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it just me or does it seem a lot like Joost?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlipperyRock
Member
Member


Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Location: PA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zen wrote:
Is it just me or does it seem a lot like Joost?

I haven't looked at Joost in a while, but I don't remember it having all of these services or functionality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr.187
Member
Member


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 240
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At last the BBC iPlayer on my ATV, just what was needed.
Does anyone know how to get the a high picture quality on iplayer for the ATV?
Keep up the good work.
_________________
Current: 20" iMac 2.4GHZ 2GB RAM 500GB HDD 10.6 using a 1TB Time Capsule, 2.4GHZ Macbook and 2G 16GB iPhone.

Had: Core Duo Mac Mini, 30GB Video iPod,ATV and the Apple Hi-Fi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Mr.187
Member
Member


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 240
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also for people running it in the UK and unable to access content in the states when running from Mac, if you download and run hotspot shield that gets around the problem.
_________________
Current: 20" iMac 2.4GHZ 2GB RAM 500GB HDD 10.6 using a 1TB Time Capsule, 2.4GHZ Macbook and 2G 16GB iPhone.

Had: Core Duo Mac Mini, 30GB Video iPod,ATV and the Apple Hi-Fi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.