123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Diglog

Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> General Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Susurrus
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 12:04 pm    Post subject: Diglog Reply with quote

If anyone has been doing much stuff with circuitry, they might have been using Log, which is part of the Chipmunk suite of apps. I am a computer engineer at Brown U, and this is the program we use here. I don't want to have to walk to the Sun lab to do all my work for this class so I wanted to install this program on my computer.

Chipmunk includes a circuitry lab called Log, a graphics editor called Until, and a data logging program probably similar to Logger Pro called View. All are provided as source code so compiling them for OS X took a little work as I never got into the compiling part of Linux before I stopped playing around with it. I couldn't find a walkthrough of a Log install anywhere else online, so I figured I would post one here. The instructions are all in the compilation files, but this might help some of you out there, or encourage some of you to become computer or electrical engineers like me!

ASSUMPTIONS ABOUT PREINSTALLATION SYSTEM STATE:
1) X11 is installed and working at /usr/X11R6
2) cd command is still linked to chdir, if you use cd to change directories, you're golden
3) I'm running Tiger fully updated as of this post date: Sept. 23, 2005, so I cannot guarantee that this works for versions prior to this, though I think this should work for every version of OS X

Notes on grammar, when I say change a variable I mean set it equal to so it would go from "CHIPMUNKFLAGS = " to "CHIPMUNKFLAGS = -DBSD -Dlinux -Dfreebsd".

1st: Download psys 1.56 at this direct link