123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Simply connecting two Macs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Networking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JohnnyBoy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 3954
Location: West Sussex, South-East England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:20 am    Post subject: Simply connecting two Macs Reply with quote

I'm planning to connect my Mini to my MacBook as I want to try ScreenRecycler. I've got a 10Mbps ethernet hub and some Cat 5 cables, but I think I can do better than this when both machines have gigabit ethernet (I think Confused ).

So is a Cat 6 cross-over patch cable the way to go?

If I want to keep the Mini connected to my DSL modem, I suppose I'll either have to buy a 10/100/1000Mbps hub/switch or connect it to the Mini using its USB socket...
_________________
Intel Mini 2.0GHz C2D (4GB/120GB/SuperDrive/10.5.8 ), 120GB WD Passport, Logitech ergo k/b
iPod Touch (32GB, 3rd gen), iPod Shuffle (512MB, 1st gen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyBoy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 3954
Location: West Sussex, South-East England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Google has been my friend. I've found a pretty good article on networking a couple of Macs together right here:
http://www.applelinks.com/index.php/more/hands_on_mac_connecting_two_macs_via_a_simple_ethernet_network/

I think I've also found a suitable Cat 6 crossover patch cable here:
http://www.lindy.co.uk/network-cable-crossover-cat6-utp-grey-2m/44943.html
_________________
Intel Mini 2.0GHz C2D (4GB/120GB/SuperDrive/10.5.8 ), 120GB WD Passport, Logitech ergo k/b
iPod Touch (32GB, 3rd gen), iPod Shuffle (512MB, 1st gen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pleiades
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 3237
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need crossover cables. You can use standard ethernet cables, as modern Macs will auto-crossover as needed.
_________________
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, Dell 802.11n card, 1.4TB external
MacBook 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
iMac 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, 1TB external, EyeTV Hybrid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3104
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ClunkClunk posted a correction to one of my posts recently where I had suggested a crossover cable to link two Macs, he pointed out that a standard patch cable would also work, no need for the cross over as the Macs would sort it out. I'll see if I can find his post.
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S


Last edited by Cypher on Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3104
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just spotted ClunkClunk has already replied, Cool we posted at the same time..

Here's the other post anyway.

PC to Mac chit-chat
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyBoy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 3954
Location: West Sussex, South-East England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clunk, Cypher, thanks for the replies.

I've investigated my 'large horde' of networking gear only to discover that it looks rather pitiful. Still, there's a Cat 5 cable connecting my Mini to the DSL modem that I can borrow for experimental purposes.

How does a Mac 'know' which category of cable is being used? Will the Mini and MacBook just try to communicate as fast as the cable allows?
_________________
Intel Mini 2.0GHz C2D (4GB/120GB/SuperDrive/10.5.8 ), 120GB WD Passport, Logitech ergo k/b
iPod Touch (32GB, 3rd gen), iPod Shuffle (512MB, 1st gen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sipper
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Poole, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JohnnyBoy wrote:
Clunk, Cypher, thanks for the replies.

I've investigated my 'large horde' of networking gear only to discover that it looks rather pitiful. Still, there's a Cat 5 cable connecting my Mini to the DSL modem that I can borrow for experimental purposes.

How does a Mac 'know' which category of cable is being used? Will the Mini and MacBook just try to communicate as fast as the cable allows?


And just to throw a spanner in the works

Cat 5 cable is good for 100Mb
Cat 5e cable is good for 1000 Mb
cat 6 cable is good for 1000Mb

To answer your question, I don't reckon the Macs will know which cable you are using, but will communicate as fast as they can.

S
_________________
iMac 2,66 C2D 2Gb RAM 320Gb HDD
16Gb White iPhone 3G
WD 1TB Studio 11 x 2
Lacie 320Gb for Time Machine
AppleTV with aTVFlash
17" iMac C2D ( for 'er indoors)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyBoy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 3954
Location: West Sussex, South-East England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, Sipper.

Yes, I couldn't imagine a way for a Mac to identify which cable it's connected with, other than just starting slowly and stepping up the data rate until it hits a limit.
_________________
Intel Mini 2.0GHz C2D (4GB/120GB/SuperDrive/10.5.8 ), 120GB WD Passport, Logitech ergo k/b
iPod Touch (32GB, 3rd gen), iPod Shuffle (512MB, 1st gen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr.187
Member
Member


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 240
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried Screenrecycler on my XP Laptop, works a Treat as a remote 2nd monitor, running throught wireless too.
_________________
Current: 20" iMac 2.4GHZ 2GB RAM 500GB HDD 10.6 using a 1TB Time Capsule, 2.4GHZ Macbook and 2G 16GB iPhone.

Had: Core Duo Mac Mini, 30GB Video iPod,ATV and the Apple Hi-Fi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
JohnnyBoy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 3954
Location: West Sussex, South-East England

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr.187 wrote:
Just tried Screenrecycler on my XP Laptop, works a Treat as a remote 2nd monitor, running throught wireless too.

Nice one, Mr. 187! You've whetted my appetite now, this is definitely going to be my 'Saturday afternoon' project...

...well, it is unless the televised coverage of the Euro 2008 football becomes too tempting! Laughing
_________________
Intel Mini 2.0GHz C2D (4GB/120GB/SuperDrive/10.5.8 ), 120GB WD Passport, Logitech ergo k/b
iPod Touch (32GB, 3rd gen), iPod Shuffle (512MB, 1st gen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyBoy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 3954
Location: West Sussex, South-East England

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I gave it a try! I downloaded the trial software, installed ScreenRecycler on the Mini and JollysGoodVNC on the MacBook, connected the two using a Cat 5 patch cable... but couldn't get them to work together.

Fired up Network Utility on both machines, and it became apparent quite quickly that the Mini's firewall was holding up the proceedings. Switched off the firewall, tried again and - 'Ta-da!' - it worked. Using the Mini's mouse to move windows around the MacBook screen made them blur with a kind of "mpeg blockiness" as they were in motion, but once any window was still, it was fine. I suspect that the bandwidth of the Cat 5 cable might be to blame here, and that using a Cat 6 cable would reduce this motion blur.

I also connected the MacBook to my new 20 inch Iiyama. Whereas the Mini connects using a DVI cable, the adapter that I've bought for the MacBook is Mini-DVI to VGA, so the trial with the notebook had to use the Iiyama's D-Sub socket. It worked - even at 1600x1200 - but I could detect a slight drop in picture quality. The sharp edges that I was used to had become softened.

So now I know! If I want to buy a second 20-inch display to extend my desktop to 3200x1200, I pretty much have everything else that I need to make it happen. Smile
_________________
Intel Mini 2.0GHz C2D (4GB/120GB/SuperDrive/10.5.8 ), 120GB WD Passport, Logitech ergo k/b
iPod Touch (32GB, 3rd gen), iPod Shuffle (512MB, 1st gen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Networking All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.