123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Apple Releases Time Machine and AirPort Updates [U]
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 707
Location: A large Island called Vancouver

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devo wrote:
Wow, it does work! I plugged another one of my drives in and bingo. I don't know why it didn't see the first drive, but I'm a happy camper now. Kudos to Apple for coming through on this. I also feel like a genius for retuning a TC now.

If after the update, TM does not see your drive, it appears that a repartition or sometimes just a disk repair will fix the problem.
File type NEEDS to be HFS journaled.
I had this experience, and after a web search discovered this tip, which worked for me.

jb.
_________________
"I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol was a man nailed to two pieces of wood"
-George Carlin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pleiades
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 3237
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ephilei wrote:
Any ideas if this will work on external HDDs attached to Macs? I'm using my Mini as a server for a MacBook - it would be nice not to have to move the HDD every time I want to backup. It worked in the Leopard beta. I'm downloading now.

This update has nothing to do with Time Machine's ability to use hard drives connected to Macs on a network. That has been functional and working since 10.5.0 and continues to do so Smile
_________________
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, Dell 802.11n card, 1.4TB external
MacBook 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
iMac 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, 1TB external, EyeTV Hybrid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 707
Location: A large Island called Vancouver

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ClunkClunk wrote:
This update has nothing to do with Time Machine's ability to use hard drives connected to Macs on a network. That has been functional and working since 10.5.0 and continues to do so Smile

Not quite accurate, the latest update makes it easy by finding the AirDisk without the need for an unsupported Terminal Hack.
The code Apple is using is different then the previous unsupported Hack in as much as the terminal Hack found my AirDisk and also found my non Apple NAS shares.
While the latest Apple update only finds and allows my AirDisk.

jb.
_________________
"I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol was a man nailed to two pieces of wood"
-George Carlin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pleiades
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 3237
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jb wrote:
Not quite accurate, the latest update makes it easy by finding the AirDisk without the need for an unsupported Terminal Hack.

Ephilei's question was about external hard drives connected to a Mac as a Time Machine destination, not about external hard drives connected to an Airport Extreme using AirDisk as a Time Machine destination.
_________________
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, Dell 802.11n card, 1.4TB external
MacBook 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
iMac 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, 1TB external, EyeTV Hybrid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jb
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 707
Location: A large Island called Vancouver

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ClunkClunk wrote:
jb wrote:
Not quite accurate, the latest update makes it easy by finding the AirDisk without the need for an unsupported Terminal Hack.

Ephilei's question was about external hard drives connected to a Mac as a Time Machine destination, not about external hard drives connected to an Airport Extreme using AirDisk as a Time Machine destination.

Actually I knew that, Iwas just testing to see if you were paying attention. Embarassed

jb.
_________________
"I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol was a man nailed to two pieces of wood"
-George Carlin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scooper
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 1005

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got my AirPort Extreme from the UPS man about an hour ago. Setup was really easy. And it seems to be working ok with Time Machine. The backup is just going super slow. I really wish there was a flashing indicator light on the front of this thing instead of the massive green one. I already miss looking over at my old router and checking for activity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5391
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scooper wrote:
I got my AirPort Extreme from the UPS man about an hour ago. Setup was really easy. And it seems to be working ok with Time Machine. The backup is just going super slow. I really wish there was a flashing indicator light on the front of this thing instead of the massive green one. I already miss looking over at my old router and checking for activity.


You can set the status light to flash on activity. Open up the AirPort Utility and hit the manual setup button. Then go to the AirPort panel > Base Station and click the options button. There is a drop down menu half way down for the status light. Just change it from the default to flash on activity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scooper
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 1005

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devo wrote:
You can set the status light to flash on activity. Open up the AirPort Utility and hit the manual setup button. Then go to the AirPort panel > Base Station and click the options button. There is a drop down menu half way down for the status light. Just change it from the default to flash on activity.

I saw that after posting, but thanks. Now I wish there was a way to make the light smaller. It's a little on the bright side.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.