123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sapphire Browser for Front Row
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
barnz
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 423
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Sapphire Browser for Front Row Reply with quote

admin wrote:
It will download all the metadata and cover art for your TV Shows and Movies in Front Row.


Can anyone confirm if this works for movies and tv shows that originated on DVD? What about PVR material, such as from EyeTV?

It seems like when this function has been an issue before, the problems have related to FrontRow wanting everything to be in iTunes. I only use iTunes for music, and get most of my TV shows a year late on DVD...
_________________
MacMini 2GHz C2D 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD| Panasonic TH-37PX60U | iPhone 3G 16GB
in cold storage:
Winegard Square Shooter HD Antenna | Elgato 250+ | Linn AV5103 | Thule IA60 | Linn Sondek LP12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pleiades
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 3237
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusev wrote:
The only thing I have noticed with some of the movies/tv shows don't always get picked up. One example is Battlestar Galactica Razor. Any suggestions on how to get around this?

It has to do with naming usually. I got Razor to get picked up, but it showed up in the Movies section. I believe my filename is "BSG Razor.avi".

But yeah, I've had a few that won't get picked up even though they're spelled correctly, particularly some of my Jeremy Clarkson DVDs.
_________________
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, Dell 802.11n card, 1.4TB external
MacBook 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
iMac 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, 1TB external, EyeTV Hybrid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbooker
New Member
New Member


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusev wrote:
The only thing I have noticed with some of the movies/tv shows don't always get picked up. One example is Battlestar Galactica Razor. Any suggestions on how to get around this?

Created an FAQ entry for ya:
http://appletv.nanopi.net/72/how-do-i-identify-series-specials/

Also, there are other FAQ entries along with a manual
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusev
New Member
New Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks - that helped a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
blazer
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1108
Location: San Ramon, California

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just started messing around with Sapphire tonight, and I'm pretty impressed with it so far. Very Happy
_________________
1.42GHz Mac mini
2.0GHz Core 2 Duo Mac mini
2.0GHz Core 2 Duo Mac mini (2009)
2.5GHz Core i5 Mac mini (2011)
24" Dell LCD & 42" Sharp TV
EyeTV 250 Plus
1G, 2G, 3G, 4G and 5G iPod nanos
16GB 3G iPhone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5377
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, this sounds really cool! Are there other Apple TV plugins that work? I wouldn't mind having ones for radio and YouTube.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
myminirocks
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 335
Location: Brisbane

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, 1 week on and I have removed Sapphire. I love it, I really do, but currently it is really buggy. It would crash Front Row about every 3rd time requiring a killall command in terminal.

it would also randomly 'lose' movies and tv shows.

It is a proof in concept that FR plugin can be written so it is certainly an exciting start.
_________________
Intel 2.4Ghz/4G Ram/1TB HDD/Server MacMini
WD MyBook Studio II 2 TB External
3.06GHz/4G Ram/500G HDD/SuperDrive iMac
Elgato EyeTV Diversity
16G iPhone 3G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbulava
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 523

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

myminirocks wrote:
Ok, 1 week on and I have removed Sapphire. I love it, I really do, but currently it is really buggy. It would crash Front Row about every 3rd time requiring a killall command in terminal.

it would also randomly 'lose' movies and tv shows.

It is a proof in concept that FR plugin can be written so it is certainly an exciting start.


yeah to me it seems like an AWESOME idea but as of right now it's just too buggy for my tastes. i'll wait for a better version and give it another go.
_________________
Mac Mini 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo, Pioneer DVR-K06 Superdrive, 2GB Crucial RAM, 200GB 7200rpm HD
iPhone 3G 16GB Black

LaCie 500GB Gigabit Ethernet Disk mini
Apple BT Keyboard/Mighty Mouse, iSight
Vizio 42" 1080p LCD HDTV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
hackersmovie
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 3173
Location: Maryland, U.S.A

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

myminirocks wrote:
Ok, 1 week on and I have removed Sapphire. I love it, I really do, but currently it is really buggy. It would crash Front Row about every 3rd time requiring a killall command in terminal.

it would also randomly 'lose' movies and tv shows.

It is a proof in concept that FR plugin can be written so it is certainly an exciting start.


what exactly did you do to remove it? I'm not seeing the "Sapphire.frappliance" in the frontrow plugins folder anymore? But sure enough Sapphire is there!
_________________
Digital Marketing For Small Business
Digital Marketing Forum
Mac Repairs & Upgrades
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
myminirocks
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 335
Location: Brisbane

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey hackersmovie, I dont know why but you seem to have had heaps of trouble with sapphire, I noticed your other posts about it.

I just went into the FR plugins folder (coreservices folder) and there was the sapphire frappliance folder, deleted it and killed FR in terminal and "poof' it was gone.

How did you install your copy? it sounds like some of the issues you are having seem to do with folder structure, is it possible you have 2 x versions of FR installed? I know some people installed the old tiger FR in leopard and they have reported issues and general weirdness with folder access.
_________________
Intel 2.4Ghz/4G Ram/1TB HDD/Server MacMini
WD MyBook Studio II 2 TB External
3.06GHz/4G Ram/500G HDD/SuperDrive iMac
Elgato EyeTV Diversity
16G iPhone 3G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hackersmovie
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 3173
Location: Maryland, U.S.A

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

myminirocks wrote:
hey hackersmovie, I dont know why but you seem to have had heaps of trouble with sapphire, I noticed your other posts about it.

I just went into the FR plugins folder (coreservices folder) and there was the sapphire frappliance folder, deleted it and killed FR in terminal and "poof' it was gone.

How did you install your copy? it sounds like some of the issues you are having seem to do with folder structure, is it possible you have 2 x versions of FR installed? I know some people installed the old tiger FR in leopard and they have reported issues and general weirdness with folder access.


Believe it or not, I actually followed the instructions on their site! (you know the fact that most men don't like to read instructions..)
_________________
Digital Marketing For Small Business
Digital Marketing Forum
Mac Repairs & Upgrades
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Pleiades
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 3237
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a new Sapphire beta out today.
_________________
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, Dell 802.11n card, 1.4TB external
MacBook 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
iMac 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, 1TB external, EyeTV Hybrid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tlutrick
New Member
New Member


Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Location: Monroe, LA.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:57 pm    Post subject: I must be an idiot, as I can't install Sapphire Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I'm new to this the Board and a recent Mac convert. I just bought a Mac Mini with high hopes of using Front Row as a media center component. I love the concept of what the Sapphire application provides, but for the life of me I can follow the installation instructions related to:

Place Sapphire.frappliance in: “/System/Library/CoreServices/Front Row.app/Contents/PlugIns/”.

This folder doesn't exist. Everything else is pretty self explanatory (I think). I sure would appreciate it if someone would point me on the road to Mac Happiness. Smile

Thanks everyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khisayruou
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:46 pm    Post subject: Re: I must be an idiot, as I can't install Sapphire Reply with quote

tlutrick wrote:
Place Sapphire.frappliance in: “/System/Library/CoreServices/Front Row.app/Contents/PlugIns/”.


Open up finder, under devices...click on your hard drive. Then go into system >> library >> coreservices >> front row.app

Now, right click it and "Show package contents", then contents >> plugins

Enjoy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tlutrick
New Member
New Member


Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Location: Monroe, LA.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's so simple...Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.