| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
philpro68 Member


Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 82 Location: Maumelle, Arkansas
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:19 am Post subject: BUYUSA.COM for Adobe Creative Suite? |
|
|
Has anyone here purchased anything from this website?http://www.buysusa.com/ If you have, is this legitimate software. It say's on the website that you can not register for tech support, but it is new software that was supposed to be bundled for a computer. I would like to hear any user's experiences.
Thanks  _________________ Mac: Mac mini 1.42 512MB |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
devo Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005 Posts: 5273 Location: Dunwoody, GA
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 9:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I've never heard of them. Website seems a little shady! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Susurrus Veteran Member


Joined: 05 May 2005 Posts: 1303 Location: Providence, Rhode Island
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 9:35 am Post subject: Re: BUYUSA.COM for Adobe Creative Suite? |
|
|
| philpro68 wrote: | Has anyone here purchased anything from this website?http://www.buysusa.com/ If you have, is this legitimate software. It say's on the website that you can not register for tech support, but it is new software that was supposed to be bundled for a computer. I would like to hear any user's experiences.
Thanks  |
If it was supposed to be bundled with hardware (like Microsoft's stuff, which is why you buy and IDE cable with Windows when you get it off of eBay), then this sale violates Adobe's ToS or EULA or whatever contract it is and should be an illegal sale. You could also email them about this and ask what their take on the legality of sale is.
I couldn't really find any reseller information about buyusa.com, so I don't know. Someone claims on these forums here that they purchased legit software, but I would stay away from them. If you're a student, try to find a student version somewhere. If not, I guess you can risk it.
Be warned though, under BuysUSA.com's ToS you CANNOT cancel the charge through your credit card. You agree to this when you purchase, so if you're unhappy and they won't refund, technically you're screwed. _________________ Computer Engineer
Junior, Brown University
15" NC8430 HP Laptop
1.42Ghz PPC Mac Mini, 1Gb RAM, 1st Gen
40GB G4 iPod
2GB Black iPod Nano |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
philpro68 Member


Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 82 Location: Maumelle, Arkansas
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:00 am Post subject: Re: BUYUSA.COM for Adobe Creative Suite? |
|
|
| Susurrus wrote: | | philpro68 wrote: | Has anyone here purchased anything from this website?http://www.buysusa.com/ If you have, is this legitimate software. It say's on the website that you can not register for tech support, but it is new software that was supposed to be bundled for a computer. I would like to hear any user's experiences.
Thanks  |
If it was supposed to be bundled with hardware (like Microsoft's stuff, which is why you buy and IDE cable with Windows when you get it off of eBay), then this sale violates Adobe's ToS or EULA or whatever contract it is and should be an illegal sale. You could also email them about this and ask what their take on the legality of sale is.
I couldn't really find any reseller information about buyusa.com, so I don't know. Someone claims on these forums here that they purchased legit software, but I would stay away from them. If you're a student, try to find a student version somewhere. If not, I guess you can risk it.
Be warned though, under BuysUSA.com's ToS you CANNOT cancel the charge through your credit card. You agree to this when you purchase, so if you're unhappy and they won't refund, technically you're screwed. |
That's kinda what I figured. It just amazes me at how many people out there are ready to rob you blind! I couldn't imagine trying to purposely deceive people like that! If only their were a shock stick that you could use over the internet!  _________________ Mac: Mac mini 1.42 512MB |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Susurrus Veteran Member


Joined: 05 May 2005 Posts: 1303 Location: Providence, Rhode Island
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:36 am Post subject: Re: BUYUSA.COM for Adobe Creative Suite? |
|
|
| philpro68 wrote: | That's kinda what I figured. It just amazes me at how many people out there are ready to rob you blind! I couldn't imagine trying to purposely deceive people like that! If only their were a shock stick that you could use over the internet!  |
If only...I think we should invent something that causes a computers PSU to overload, creating a large Tesla effect that would actually shock whoever's using the computer. The problem is people don't normally sit in front of servers, . _________________ Computer Engineer
Junior, Brown University
15" NC8430 HP Laptop
1.42Ghz PPC Mac Mini, 1Gb RAM, 1st Gen
40GB G4 iPod
2GB Black iPod Nano |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
philpro68 Member


Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 82 Location: Maumelle, Arkansas
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:41 am Post subject: Re: BUYUSA.COM for Adobe Creative Suite? |
|
|
| Susurrus wrote: | | philpro68 wrote: | That's kinda what I figured. It just amazes me at how many people out there are ready to rob you blind! I couldn't imagine trying to purposely deceive people like that! If only their were a shock stick that you could use over the internet!  |
If only...I think we should invent something that causes a computers PSU to overload, creating a large Tesla effect that would actually shock whoever's using the computer. The problem is people don't normally sit in front of servers, . |
Oh, that's already been invented silly...it's called Windows! _________________ Mac: Mac mini 1.42 512MB |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|