123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SATA for the mac mini>>>>
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini Upgrading
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paulcotto
New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Houston

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:41 am    Post subject: SATA for the mac mini>>>> Reply with quote

I had an idea for adding SATA to the Mac mini. You would use the 2.5" to 3.5" adapter by that dude in Australia and then use one of the hardware PATA to SATA adapters that are now available. Then you install a SATA plug into the back of the mini and use a SATA drive in an external case. Right now I am using a Raid-0 external case with 2 Maxtor 250 gig drives to boot and run the mini but I want even more speed Evil or Very Mad I also saw a hardware device that lets you RAID 5 SATA drives to one SATA connection. Imagine the Mini with a 1TB SATA external drive array hooked to it Very Happy I do editing with Final Cut HD so I need the speed & space...

Here is the hardware SATA raid>>

http://www.cooldrives.com/cosapomubrso.html

Here is the SATA to PATA adapter>>

http://www.cooldrives.com/sata-drive-to-ide-converter-mini.html

Here is a backplane connector you could use if you remove the bracket and screw it onto the mini vent holes>>

http://www.cooldrives.com/insaexsa1ppc.html

Then you need the 2.5" to 3.5" adapter>>

http://www.amug.org/amug-web/html/amug/reviews/articles/mini/dock/

Regards,
Paul Cotto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Susurrus
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1303
Location: Providence, Rhode Island

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you want RAID 5 if you're going for speed? RAID 5 provides redundancy which hurts performace. What you'd want is hardware RAID 0 with more drives. Also, why do you want all this to be SATA? Are you thinking about 10k or 15k rpm drives? The extra bandwidth SATA offers is lost through all of this conversion, and it isn't fully used now anyways.

Frankly, you could do a TB external RAID drive now with two 500Gb drives in RAID 0, similar to your setup.
_________________
Computer Engineer
Junior, Brown University
15" NC8430 HP Laptop
1.42Ghz PPC Mac Mini, 1Gb RAM, 1st Gen
40GB G4 iPod
2GB Black iPod Nano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
paulcotto
New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Houston

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never said any particular raid setup. I said you could use 5 drives with the raid block. I would use raid-0 for speed. Dont you think it would still be faster then a FW400 RAID?

Paul Cotto


Susurrus wrote:
Why would you want RAID 5 if you're going for speed? RAID 5 provides redundancy which hurts performace. What you'd want is hardware RAID 0 with more drives. Also, why do you want all this to be SATA? Are you thinking about 10k or 15k rpm drives? The extra bandwidth SATA offers is lost through all of this conversion, and it isn't fully used now anyways.

Frankly, you could do a TB external RAID drive now with two 500Gb drives in RAID 0, similar to your setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homerjatmoes
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 323
Location: Elmira, NY

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I say give it a shot and report your results. I would use a single drive first then build up to the raid array and test that. With the smaller SATA cables it would look a lot better than the IDE hacks out there.

The SATA would run at IDE performance but the over all hook up would look cleaner in my opinion.
_________________
1.42Ghz
1GB RAM
200GB FW HDD (Boot drive)
80GB HDD
External DVD burner
45.23 Xbench 1.2 average
FireWire Boot Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Susurrus
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1303
Location: Providence, Rhode Island

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

paulcotto wrote:
I also saw a hardware device that lets you RAID 5 SATA drives to one SATA connection.


This is what I was referring to when I was arguing against a RAID 5 setup.

As for the SATA arrangement, I see no reason why it couldn't be done. I would recommend using SATA2.0, though, as the connectors has clips on the end and are designed for external use. You could also just route the SATA cable though the modem port (it's removable) or you could add your plug there.

It's definitely an option, though you'd need a case. You could probably find a Cube case to through the array in.
_________________
Computer Engineer
Junior, Brown University
15" NC8430 HP Laptop
1.42Ghz PPC Mac Mini, 1Gb RAM, 1st Gen
40GB G4 iPod
2GB Black iPod Nano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
paulcotto
New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Houston

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I should have put a comma between "RAID, 5 SATA drives" to remove confusion. Good idea on the Modem port, I will consider it. I have an older SCSI 6-bay tower in the closet that will be pressed into service when I get ready. I am still waitiing for the 2.5" adapter from Ausrailia.

Regards,
Paul Cotto


Susurrus wrote:
paulcotto wrote:
I also saw a hardware device that lets you RAID 5 SATA drives to one SATA connection.


This is what I was referring to when I was arguing against a RAID 5 setup.

As for the SATA arrangement, I see no reason why it couldn't be done. I would recommend using SATA2.0, though, as the connectors has clips on the end and are designed for external use. You could also just route the SATA cable though the modem port (it's removable) or you could add your plug there.

It's definitely an option, though you'd need a case. You could probably find a Cube case to through the array in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homerjatmoes
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 323
Location: Elmira, NY

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paulcotto wrote:
Yes, I should have put a comma between "RAID, 5 SATA drives" to remove confusion. Good idea on the Modem port, I will consider it. I have an older SCSI 6-bay tower in the closet that will be pressed into service when I get ready. I am still waitiing for the 2.5" adapter from Ausrailia.

Regards,
Paul Cotto

Keep us informed on your findings!
_________________
1.42Ghz
1GB RAM
200GB FW HDD (Boot drive)
80GB HDD
External DVD burner
45.23 Xbench 1.2 average
FireWire Boot Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
h4ns
New Member
New Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is very interesting. So please keep us informed Laughing

In the meantime take a look at these enclosures:

http://www.stardom.com.tw/web/pro-U72.htm

http://www.stardom.com.tw/web/pro-U74.htm

These are not cheap, but I think it would be so cool if I could use
the U7-2-WB2 and mod it a bit so it could take a 5.25" DVD burner,
and two 3.5" HDD's Rolling Eyes

It has 2 Oxford 922 chipsets, and I believe it's possible to add 2 devises (master and slave) on a chipcontroller like that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulcotto
New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Houston

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I received the 2.5" to 3.5" drive adapter from Australia today. I also ordered the rest of the parts and they are due in Friday. I will try the SATA adapter by itself on a single SATA drive. If that works I will get 3 more and raid zero them. I should know if it works by next week.

Regards,
Paul Cotto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h4ns
New Member
New Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the maximum lenght of a SATA cable that can be used from the mini to the storage tank?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homerjatmoes
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 323
Location: Elmira, NY

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

h4ns wrote:
What's the maximum lenght of a SATA cable that can be used from the mini to the storage tank?

1 meter is the recommended maximum.
_________________
1.42Ghz
1GB RAM
200GB FW HDD (Boot drive)
80GB HDD
External DVD burner
45.23 Xbench 1.2 average
FireWire Boot Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
h4ns
New Member
New Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Paul, any news Question

I'm also wondering if it's possible to keep the combo-drive in it's place when adding an external SATA interface?

Please let us know how things turned out! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Susurrus
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1303
Location: Providence, Rhode Island

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eSATA, the external version of SATA can support lengths up to 18ft. There is also talk of possible support for 24ft lengths.
_________________
Computer Engineer
Junior, Brown University
15" NC8430 HP Laptop
1.42Ghz PPC Mac Mini, 1Gb RAM, 1st Gen
40GB G4 iPod
2GB Black iPod Nano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
h4ns
New Member
New Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm.. 16ft, that should be like 5,4864 meters and that means I could have a drive enclosure stored in the next room holding 2 or 3 harddrives and a nice Dual Layer DVD burner. I sure hope it's possible to leave the combo inside the mini with the 2,5" to 3,5" IDE converter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h4ns
New Member
New Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like it's possible to keep the combo-drive:

http://macmod.com/content/view/273/2/

Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Mini Upgrading All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.