123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Our Sharp Aquos looks to be dead
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Off Topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOCOMRAIDER wrote:
I had went through 4 Samsungs and a Panasonic before landing with a Bravia. All the Samsungs were either DOA (dead or defective screens). The Panasonic just plain sucked.

Not only does that suck, but what a hassle. I bet you got tired of going back and forth to the store. Mad

I'm so happy with this Sony. I just hope it holds up over the next couple years. Which Bravia did you buy again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SOCOMRAIDER
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2869
Location: Minneapolis

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This Sony Bravia, I got it a couple of years ago or so.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOCOMRAIDER wrote:
This Sony Bravia, I got it a couple of years ago or so.

Sweet! I kinda remember reading about that being a pretty nice set. I bet you're wishing it had more HDMI inputs though. I was going crazy with two on our other set. I hated the switcher we had as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SOCOMRAIDER
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2869
Location: Minneapolis

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah, my receiver takes up the slack of HDMI. It has 4 HDMI inputs. So really I only use one HDMI on my TV. Everything is routed to my receiver.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5985
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOCOMRAIDER wrote:
Nah, my receiver takes up the slack of HDMI. It has 4 HDMI inputs. So really I only use one HDMI on my TV. Everything is routed to my receiver.


I think both ways have pluses and minuses. It's much easier/tidier/cheaper to run your HDMI cables to the receiver. You can also customize sound settings for each device. You do however lose the ability to customize individual video preferences for each device (as far as I know). I don't think the TV is able to distinguish which device is sending the video signal. Perhaps some of the newer systems are smart and customizable enough.

Of course most people aren't going to care or bother with what I mentioned above, but if you're an enthusiast it's something to consider.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SOCOMRAIDER
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2869
Location: Minneapolis

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just have different picture mode settings on depending on what I'm doing. I have a general setting, for doing everything pretty decent, but mostly for TV. A cinema setting just specifically for movies. Also have a setting for video games, occasionally when the general setting isn't working for a particular game.
Then I just have a dedicated button on my remote for changing picture modes.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5985
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOCOMRAIDER wrote:
I just have different picture mode settings on depending on what I'm doing. I have a general setting, for doing everything pretty decent, but mostly for TV. A cinema setting just specifically for movies. Also have a setting for video games, occasionally when the general setting isn't working for a particular game.
Then I just have a dedicated button on my remote for changing picture modes.


That works. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOCOMRAIDER wrote:
Nah, my receiver takes up the slack of HDMI. It has 4 HDMI inputs. So really I only use one HDMI on my TV. Everything is routed to my receiver.

Yeah, that works too. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Off Topic All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.