123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

VMware Ships Fusion 3
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 2187
Location: U.S.A

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:08 pm    Post subject: VMware Ships Fusion 3 Reply with quote

VMware Ships Fusion 3
Tuesday, October 27, 2009
Posted by: Glenn

VMware today began shipping Fusion 3, a major update to their virtualization software for Mac OS X. According to the company, this version of the software includes more than 50 new features and enhancements. Some of the highlights include:

- VMware Fusion 3 is the first to enable the full Windows 7 experience, side-by-side with your Mac, complete with Windows Aero and Flip 3D.
- Support for 4-way SMP to maximize performance on the latest iMac and Mac Pro. Lower overhead and up to 2X faster resume time for a suspended virtual machine.
- Banish the start menu and launch Windows apps from the new "always-on" applications menu, even when VMware Fusion isn't running. VMware Fusion provides convenient new ways to experience Windows applications like Mac applications.
- Built from the ground up for the Mac, VMware Fusion 3 leverages Mac OS X Snow Leopard's advanced architecture with a new 64-bit core engine and native support for the 64-bit kernel, delivering even better Windows on Mac performance.
- Support for OpenGL 2.1 and DirectX 9.0c Shader Model 3 will enable users to run their favorite 3D Windows games and applications – all without rebooting.

Registered owners of VMware Fusion 1 and 2 can upgrade to Fusion 3 for $39.99. For new users, Fusion 3 is priced at $79.99.

VMware also offers a free 30-day trial of Fusion 3. You can download it here and use the key "JN28P-7UJ8M-H8K33-0202P-9EPH4" to get started.



http://www.123macmini.com/news/story/1360.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Fox
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2672
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In case you didn't know this, university/college students and faculty can get the program for half-price ($39.99) and/or can upgrade an older version to 3.0 for $19.99. This isn't well advertised, but you can buy it this way on VMware's website.
_________________
Mini 1 (2011): 2.3 ghz Core i5; 8 gb RAM, Corsair 240gb SSD, 500 gb Seagate XT
Mini 2 (2009): 2.26 ghz Core 2 duo, 8 gb RAM, 500 gb Seagate used as HTPC
Also a Cube, 13" MacBook Air, 20" 2.66 ghz iMac & 11.6" Acer 1810TZ running Ubuntu & Crunchbang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5393
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may upgrade to Fusion 3 now after seeing Windows 7 in action on my wife's laptop. I wouldn't mind having it run in combo with Snow Leopard on my MBP as well. Honestly, it's a pretty sweet operating system. Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bandit Bill
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 5985
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devo wrote:
I may upgrade to Fusion 3 now after seeing Windows 7 in action on my wife's laptop. I wouldn't mind having it run in combo with Snow Leopard on my MBP as well. Honestly, it's a pretty sweet operating system. Surprised


I like the combo idea, I'd be a lot more inclined to play around with Windows 7 if I was still able to run OS X at the same time. I know bootcamp frees up more resources for Windows to run, but what good is having Windows if you don't actually use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyMontana
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 1945
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had high hopes for this product as I run version 2 and like it. But I have chatted with 4-5 folks that say that Fusion 3 runs really slow. They report that Parallels 5 beta beats the pants off it in performance. UGGG... I started off with Parallels but changed a while back on version 3 or 4 because I wasn't happy with it. Looks like I'll give version 3 try.
_________________
MacMini 2.0GHz C2D (2009)
MacMini 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo
Dell Mini 10v *OSX 10.6.4*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5393
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bandit Bill wrote:
I like the combo idea, I'd be a lot more inclined to play around with Windows 7 if I was still able to run OS X at the same time. I know bootcamp frees up more resources for Windows to run, but what good is having Windows if you don't actually use it.

You'll use Windows way more with Fusion than with Boot Camp. It's just easier running them side-by-side without having to shutdown. It also does really nice perfomace wise with 4GB of RAM allocated between the two.

TonyMontana wrote:
I had high hopes for this product as I run version 2 and like it. But I have chatted with 4-5 folks that say that Fusion 3 runs really slow. They report that Parallels 5 beta beats the pants off it in performance. UGGG... I started off with Parallels but changed a while back on version 3 or 4 because I wasn't happy with it. Looks like I'll give version 3 try.

I don't like the sounds of that. The better performance was something that drew me to Fusion.

How do you think it's doing performance wise Fox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theGimpiest
Member
Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't upgrade. They've got some sort of bug on the VMware web site for previous serials.

EDIT: and the form does not display properly in Safari. Very disappointing.


Last edited by theGimpiest on Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyMontana
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 1945
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so it is up and running. Performance seems to be the same. Boot time seems the same. It now has a new icon in the tool bar that I can't seem to get rid of. I need new stuff on the tool bar like I need another hole in my head.

Laughing Laughing Laughing
_________________
MacMini 2.0GHz C2D (2009)
MacMini 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo
Dell Mini 10v *OSX 10.6.4*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fox
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2672
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devo wrote:
TonyMontana wrote:
I had high hopes for this product as I run version 2 and like it. But I have chatted with 4-5 folks that say that Fusion 3 runs really slow. ....

I don't like the sounds of that. The better performance was something that drew me to Fusion.

How do you think it's doing performance wise Fox?

I haven't used Parallels in more than a year; I switched to Fusion like TonyMontana but for a different reason - Fusion tools are more fully functional in Linux vms. However, I didn't notice any difference in overall performance between Parallels 3 and Fusion 1 or 2.

I haven't tried or bought Fusion Version 3 yet, but I did beta test it while running version 2 on at least one of my Macs. I didn't notice any performance difference between them in Windows xp or Linux, but I don't use xp much. Also, I did note on the beta forum that some people found Fusion 3 slower running Windows than Fusion 2. Fusion 3 does have some nice features that 2 doesn't, but in my mind, that wouldn't compensate for slower performance if that's what you experience.

The solution seems simple because Fusion 3 is available free as a trial version. If you're thinking about buying it, download the trial first, but don't install it until you've filed away your copy of Fusion 2. (It will be overwritten when 3 is installed.) Try 3 and if you're not happy with it, wipe it off your system and put back your copy of Fusion 2.
_________________
Mini 1 (2011): 2.3 ghz Core i5; 8 gb RAM, Corsair 240gb SSD, 500 gb Seagate XT
Mini 2 (2009): 2.26 ghz Core 2 duo, 8 gb RAM, 500 gb Seagate used as HTPC
Also a Cube, 13" MacBook Air, 20" 2.66 ghz iMac & 11.6" Acer 1810TZ running Ubuntu & Crunchbang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fox
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2672
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TonyMontana wrote:
... It now has a new icon in the tool bar that I can't seem to get rid of. I need new stuff on the tool bar like I need another hole in my head.
Laughing Laughing Laughing

We're of similar minds on that one, TonyMontana; I don't find the extra icon useful. This is not a feature I would pay for. For those few of you here who run Linux vm's, you will find Fusion 3 worth paying for in that with the latest kernel and the newest versions of popular Linux distros, at least one of the tools (drag and drop from host to guest OS) no longer works with the Fusion 2 tools. It does with the beta of 3 that I tested. I rather doubt that VMware will be doing any further updating of their version 2 tools.
_________________
Mini 1 (2011): 2.3 ghz Core i5; 8 gb RAM, Corsair 240gb SSD, 500 gb Seagate XT
Mini 2 (2009): 2.26 ghz Core 2 duo, 8 gb RAM, 500 gb Seagate used as HTPC
Also a Cube, 13" MacBook Air, 20" 2.66 ghz iMac & 11.6" Acer 1810TZ running Ubuntu & Crunchbang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g5g5
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 2767
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haven't given it a look, but what icon are you guys talking about? For the VMware tools in Windows? Confused
_________________
1.25GHz Mac Mini / 1.8GHz iMac G5 / 2.0GHz C2D Mac mini (2009)
4GB iPod mini / 2G iPod shuffle / 16GB iPhone 3G
Apple TV 2
iLife's a Bitch!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyMontana
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 1945
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

g5g5 wrote:
Haven't given it a look, but what icon are you guys talking about? For the VMware tools in Windows? Confused

It's at the top in my toolbar in my mac OS. It is a little VM Fusion logo. I had to kill it in activity monitor to get rid of it.
_________________
MacMini 2.0GHz C2D (2009)
MacMini 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo
Dell Mini 10v *OSX 10.6.4*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g5g5
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 2767
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gotcha. I thought you were talking about Windows for some reason. I'm going to give the trial a look later on today.
_________________
1.25GHz Mac Mini / 1.8GHz iMac G5 / 2.0GHz C2D Mac mini (2009)
4GB iPod mini / 2G iPod shuffle / 16GB iPhone 3G
Apple TV 2
iLife's a Bitch!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
strollin
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jun 2009
Posts: 48
Location: N. Calif.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have VMWare 2 on my mini but rarely use it since I installed VirtualBox which I like much better (and it's FREE). I have had Win 7 RC1 installed and running in VirtualBox for several months now. Never tried to install Win 7 on VMWare.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5393
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fox wrote:
The solution seems simple because Fusion 3 is available free as a trial version. If you're thinking about buying it, download the trial first, but don't install it until you've filed away your copy of Fusion 2. (It will be overwritten when 3 is installed.) Try 3 and if you're not happy with it, wipe it off your system and put back your copy of Fusion 2.

Yeah, that sounds like the plan Stan. Now, I just need to get another copy of Windows 7. Guess it needs to be an OEM copy this time around too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.