123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sharing Airport internet to ethernet faulty? DHCP problem?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Networking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CrArC
New Member
New Member


Joined: 30 Oct 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:57 am    Post subject: Sharing Airport internet to ethernet faulty? DHCP problem? Reply with quote

Hi there,

My mini is running Leopard with all software updates installed as of time of writing.

I'm connected to the net via Airport (home wifi router is the source). My Mac is also connected via ethernet to a PC and two Xbox consoles (original and 360) on an ethernet-only router. Every connection on all devices is set to DHCP.

So as I understood it, I'd just pop into System Preferences and configure Internet Sharing, selecting to share my connection from AirPort to the Ethernet port on the Mac. When I then enable it this would set everything up and away I go, from what I've read around the net.

Am I missing something? Because it doesn't work! Wink it's all enabled but under the Network prefpane the ethernet connection uses a "self-assigned IP" and neither the consoles nor the PC can obtain an IP address. I've tried configuring the mac's ethernet with a manual address and the rest DHCP, and it's made no difference. I assumed either the Mac would work as a DHCP server for the ethernet devices and self-assign an IP or it would pass through the DHCP from the wifi router.

This would save me running a mahoosive cable through the house JUST to get the other devices some interjuice, so any suggestions welcome! Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrArC
New Member
New Member


Joined: 30 Oct 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bump! Any ideas, people?

All I can ascertain is that it "sometimes works and sometimes doesn't", can anyone give me something more definitive?

I've managed to get the devices on the ethernet to connect to the mac mini using static IPs. I set a static IP for the mac's ethernet, (192.168.0.1) and the subnet mask left at 255.255.255.0, and the mac's ethernet DNS field filled in with the IP address of my router on the Airport connection. I also made sure Airport was the highest in the network connections list in the networking prefpane.

I get internet, but I want the IPs assigned dynamically. How do I do this?

How do I get DHCP to work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5388
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What are your advance settings for Ethernet? Specifically, your IPv4 and iPv6 settings in TCP/IP. To be honest, I haven't messed around with this in a long time. But I can remember unblocking UDP in the firewall settings in Tiger. However, I don't see anything in the Leopard firewall settings anymore. How do you have your firewall set? Do you allow all incoming connections?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hackersmovie
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 3173
Location: Maryland, U.S.A

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your problem is most likely to do with the fact that you have 2 routers in your network. I'm sure if you purchased an ethernet switch and connected the machines together that way, all would be well.

I ran into major issues one time trying to use a router as a switch. Once I replaced the second router with a switch all was well.


BTW, your wireless "router" that you are receiving the internet from is the first one, then the one connected to the ethernet is the second. You'll need to replace the second one.
_________________
Digital Marketing For Small Business
Digital Marketing Forum
Mac Repairs & Upgrades
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
pohtaytoe
New Member
New Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Location: tx

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same problems.. did you ever find out what was wrong?
the test keeps failing once it gets to DNS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Networking All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.