123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wireless Repeater

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Off Topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stuaz
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:56 pm    Post subject: Wireless Repeater Reply with quote

I live in big house with quite solid walls.. In someplaces my signal is weaken to near nothing!

Is there such a device that amplifies it??

Thanks

Stu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
greg
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 01 May 2005
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Just get a wireless repeater/extender.
_________________
2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB RAM
miniStack 500GB
Dell 1905FP
Logitech Wave Cordless Desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stuaz
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes i understand that, but does it have to be the same make etc

What ones do you recomend?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
greg
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 01 May 2005
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stuaz wrote:
Yes i understand that, but does it have to be the same make etc

What ones do you recomend?


It doesn't necessarily have to be the same make but some play better than others depending upon what wireless router/access points you are already using. You may want to just Google "wireless repeaters" for a lot of info on this subject. I don't personally need to use one and you didn't say what equipment/network you are already using so I can't recommend a specific product for you.
_________________
2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB RAM
miniStack 500GB
Dell 1905FP
Logitech Wave Cordless Desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stuaz
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a Netgear ADSL/Wirless Router. And Linksys receivers

Thanks for the help though
_________________
-Stu-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Susurrus
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1303
Location: Providence, Rhode Island

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It'll be cheaper just to use another router. A lot of routers can repeat a wireless signal if you can find one. They're normally on sale or are on sale more than repeaters are.
_________________
Computer Engineer
Junior, Brown University
15" NC8430 HP Laptop
1.42Ghz PPC Mac Mini, 1Gb RAM, 1st Gen
40GB G4 iPod
2GB Black iPod Nano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stuaz
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Susurrus wrote:
It'll be cheaper just to use another router. A lot of routers can repeat a wireless signal if you can find one. They're normally on sale or are on sale more than repeaters are.


Will it say that it is a repeater? or is there like a code or smthing(i dunno)

LOL sorry if you finding me stupid...but this wireless thing is all new to me
_________________
-Stu-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
homerjatmoes
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 323
Location: Elmira, NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stuaz wrote:
Susurrus wrote:
It'll be cheaper just to use another router. A lot of routers can repeat a wireless signal if you can find one. They're normally on sale or are on sale more than repeaters are.


Will it say that it is a repeater? or is there like a code or smthing(i dunno)

LOL sorry if you finding me stupid...but this wireless thing is all new to me

What model wireless router do you have?

You may want to look into a MIMO type router to boost signal range. I use this one and was able to replace my router and access point. I use G with it not the pre-N.

Another option is to replace the antennas with higher gain or directional ones.

I think it would be best for you to get a range extender. The are easier to set up and are meant to do what you want and easier to find than routers that can be bridged.
_________________
1.42Ghz
1GB RAM
200GB FW HDD (Boot drive)
80GB HDD
External DVD burner
45.23 Xbench 1.2 average
FireWire Boot Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stuaz
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Netgear DG834G is my wireless router. Also i was hunting around in my cupboard of computer junk for a cable.....I found a Wireless Network Access point that i forgot i had..a friend gave it to me. Its a Linksys WAP11 ver.2.6.

Would that work!!??
_________________
-Stu-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
homerjatmoes
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 323
Location: Elmira, NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stuaz wrote:
Netgear DG834G is my wireless router. Also i was hunting around in my cupboard of computer junk for a cable.....I found a Wireless Network Access point that i forgot i had..a friend gave it to me. Its a Linksys WAP11 ver.2.6.

Would that work!!??

Yes but i believe you would need to run a cable to it from the router. It also may not support WPA encryption as it is a 802.11b WAP. If you are using WEP or, God forbid, no encryption then it would work fine as long as you can run a cable.

I would try using the access point and if it didn't work I would look at adding a true MIMO access point to better serve your needs with your current router.
_________________
1.42Ghz
1GB RAM
200GB FW HDD (Boot drive)
80GB HDD
External DVD burner
45.23 Xbench 1.2 average
FireWire Boot Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stuaz
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No sadly im unable to run a cable very far. Half the reason for wireless...

With a repeater..i know this sounds stupid but does it have to be Physically connected witht the router with like a cable???
_________________
-Stu-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
homerjatmoes
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 323
Location: Elmira, NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stuaz wrote:
No sadly im unable to run a cable very far. Half the reason for wireless...

With a repeater..i know this sounds stupid but does it have to be Physically connected witht the router with like a cable???

No they don't, they bridge the wireless conection. You put a repeater in the location the signal begins to die to extend the range.

Look here for more info.
_________________
1.42Ghz
1GB RAM
200GB FW HDD (Boot drive)
80GB HDD
External DVD burner
45.23 Xbench 1.2 average
FireWire Boot Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stuaz
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!

Im gunna go hunting for one now! Smile
_________________
-Stu-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Susurrus
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1303
Location: Providence, Rhode Island

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The WAP54G v2.0 by Linksys can work as a repeater, at least that's what it says in the manual. It retails for about $50, though I'm sure you can find it cheaper with rebates.
_________________
Computer Engineer
Junior, Brown University
15" NC8430 HP Laptop
1.42Ghz PPC Mac Mini, 1Gb RAM, 1st Gen
40GB G4 iPod
2GB Black iPod Nano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Off Topic All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.