123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Connecting to Windows Machine

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Networking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3060
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:54 pm    Post subject: Connecting to Windows Machine Reply with quote

I've not connected to my windows machine in a while and never whilst using Leopard, In my Network list I can see 3 windows machines including the one I want to link to. When I select the machine I get the following




The connection always fails. How do I get it to bring up a login screen so I can add a username and password ? I'm assuming its defaulting to using my username and password off the iMac, but I have a different username on the PC.

BTW clicking the connect as button isn't doing it, it just tries to auto connect again and fails.
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3060
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I try to connect to one of the other two machines, I do get the login screen up


_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghostdawg
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 1413
Location: STLMO (usa)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you configure it for at least one user? Now when I access the mini from Linux, it ask for user/password info.

*** Edit***

Well I guess you did.
_________________
G4 Mac Mini | 1.25ghz | 1gb | 40gb | OS X 10.4.11 | 37" Westinghouse HDTV
AAOne | 1.6ghz | 1gb | 160gb | Mageia 2 & Win XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3060
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes there are multiple users on all of the systems.
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hackersmovie
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 3173
Location: Maryland, U.S.A

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I was going to try and give some suggestions by booting into my XP install on my Macbook but, when I do, it doesn't show up on the network at all! Seems I have a bigger problem Laughing Shocked
_________________
Digital Marketing For Small Business
Digital Marketing Forum
Mac Repairs & Upgrades
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3060
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got around it last night by setting my iMac to share files and folders by SMB. This let me navigate from the Windows Machine to the iMac.

Once I'd moved the files I needed over to the Mac I removed the SMB.

Doesn't fix the network problem to that machine, but I got the files I needed eventually.
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5377
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would assume that all of your computers have the same workgroup name for each user?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cypher
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 3060
Location: North West - UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes they are all in the same workgroup "MSYS"
_________________
Phil

Mac Mini 2.53GHz - iMac 2.0Ghz - Macbook Pro 2.4GHz - iPad 1 32GB 3G
6TB Netgear Ready NAS NV+ - 6TB Drobo S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> Mac Networking All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.