123Macmini.com
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   GalleryPhoto Gallery   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Leopard Roundup
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nmbob
Member
Member


Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 76
Location: New Mexico

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bsnoel wrote:
I'm also dissapointed that Time Machine won't work with Airport Disks. Early on, Apple had indicated this would be the case, then suddenly Airport support was removed.


There was a workaround on one of the *many* forums I've been reading through (with my mouth hanging open as I read through all of the problems people are having...and as I get ready to drive 150 miles to the Apple store in Albuquerque to buy a copy of Leopard anyway Smile). It was something like get TM to use the disk through a USB cable, then create a file with a specific name *somewhere*, hook the drive to the base station and you're all set. It was really simple, but I don't have ay of the parts so I wasn't paying too much attention. MaxFixIt? MacOSXHints? Someplace like that.

They may have pulled it out because an iterruption to the network connection (airport connections never drop randomly. Do they!?) could scramble your whole backup disk...or something like that. As a programmer I could see something like that happening. I'm sure it'll be back. They're letting 3rd party apps on iPhones, ain't they? Smile

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blazer
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1114
Location: San Ramon, California

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nmbob wrote:
Maybe Leopard is really checking the permissions now and Tiger was just playing a game or two of solitaire. Smile



Funny, I thought about that. I'm still leaning on the side of this being an issue. 10.5.1 anyone? Smile
_________________
1.42GHz Mac mini
2.0GHz Core 2 Duo Mac mini
2.0GHz Core 2 Duo Mac mini (2009)
2.5GHz Core i5 Mac mini (2011)
24" Dell LCD & 42" Sharp TV
EyeTV 250 Plus
1G, 2G, 3G, 4G and 5G iPod nanos
16GB 3G iPhone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bsnoel
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 355
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blazer wrote:
nmbob wrote:
Maybe Leopard is really checking the permissions now and Tiger was just playing a game or two of solitaire. Smile



Funny, I thought about that. I'm still leaning on the side of this being an issue. 10.5.1 anyone? Smile


I have another machine to upgrade today. I have deliberately avoided installing the Apple Remote Desktop Client update. I suspect that this update has done something to the catalog. I'll try a repair permissions on this ARDAgent free machine to see if it works any better and I will report back here.
_________________
Mac Pro Quad 2.66GHz, PowerMac G5 2.3 GHz, iMac Core Duo 17", MacBook Pro 2GHz, MacBook Pro 2.2GHz, Mac mini Core 2 Duo 1.83GHz. Multi-K9 Security System. No false alarms, just lots of sharp teeth.
www.grweather.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bsnoel
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 355
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nmbob wrote:
bsnoel wrote:
I'm also dissapointed that Time Machine won't work with Airport Disks. Early on, Apple had indicated this would be the case, then suddenly Airport support was removed.


There was a workaround on one of the *many* forums I've been reading through (with my mouth hanging open as I read through all of the problems people are having...and as I get ready to drive 150 miles to the Apple store in Albuquerque to buy a copy of Leopard anyway Smile). It was something like get TM to use the disk through a USB cable, then create a file with a specific name *somewhere*, hook the drive to the base station and you're all set. It was really simple, but I don't have ay of the parts so I wasn't paying too much attention. MaxFixIt? MacOSXHints? Someplace like that.

They may have pulled it out because an iterruption to the network connection (airport connections never drop randomly. Do they!?) could scramble your whole backup disk...or something like that. As a programmer I could see something like that happening. I'm sure it'll be back. They're letting 3rd party apps on iPhones, ain't they? Smile

Bob


I have seen a few workarounds, but I have not tried any of them yet. It is rumored that Apple is still working on this feature and that it may still make an appearance in a future update. I sure hope so after all the hyping of this feature that Apple created.
_________________
Mac Pro Quad 2.66GHz, PowerMac G5 2.3 GHz, iMac Core Duo 17", MacBook Pro 2GHz, MacBook Pro 2.2GHz, Mac mini Core 2 Duo 1.83GHz. Multi-K9 Security System. No false alarms, just lots of sharp teeth.
www.grweather.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Brian
News Moderator


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 544
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a cigar wrote:

PS: admin, you've got both (G4 and an Intel), have you noticed any difference?


The menu bar is not transparent on the G4. That might not be such a bad thing though. Wink
_________________
Brian
123Macmini.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bsnoel
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 355
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bsnoel wrote:
blazer wrote:
nmbob wrote:
Maybe Leopard is really checking the permissions now and Tiger was just playing a game or two of solitaire. Smile



Funny, I thought about that. I'm still leaning on the side of this being an issue. 10.5.1 anyone? Smile


I have another machine to upgrade today. I have deliberately avoided installing the Apple Remote Desktop Client update. I suspect that this update has done something to the catalog. I'll try a repair permissions on this ARDAgent free machine to see if it works any better and I will report back here.


Well I upgraded the machine and ran the Repair Permissions without the ARDAgent update installed. The result, the repair still took for ever, the only difference was that there were not any errors pointing to the ARDAgent. Oh well, I bet Apple will get to fixing this slow repair issue fairly quickly.
_________________
Mac Pro Quad 2.66GHz, PowerMac G5 2.3 GHz, iMac Core Duo 17", MacBook Pro 2GHz, MacBook Pro 2.2GHz, Mac mini Core 2 Duo 1.83GHz. Multi-K9 Security System. No false alarms, just lots of sharp teeth.
www.grweather.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aquaman
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't care much for the new system folders. The blues just bend all together. It's hard to tell them apart. Quick Look on the other hand is fantastic. My spacebar is going to get some workout over the next few years. I also like a lot of the new features in Mail. I was thinking about switching to Firebird, but this new version put an end to that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pleiades
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 3237
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aquaman wrote:
I don't care much for the new system folders. The blues just bend all together.

Agreed!
_________________
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, Dell 802.11n card, 1.4TB external
MacBook 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
iMac 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, 1TB external, EyeTV Hybrid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devo
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 5388
Location: Dunwoody, GA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My super cool looking Leopard box is still sitting on my desk. Shocked

I had to work overtime yesterday and got home late Friday night. I'll probably give it a go after the Jets game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James T Kirk
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 757
Location: The Netherlands, Europe

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I had a busy weekend and were not able to do much with computers in general and Mac specific, I will buy my new Mini with Leopard coming week. Does anyone who just bought a new Mac know, if it comes with a dedicated Leopard (in my case: specially meant for the Mac Mini) like one had with former Mac's? Rolling Eyes
_________________
___________________Jimę
Now on Hackintosh in G5 case!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
mr miyagi
New Member
New Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 3:52 pm    Post subject: will it slow my mac mini leopard? Reply with quote

hi
sorry if this post is in the wrong part of this forum. However i am concerned that my mac mini which is 1.83Ghz intel core duo and has only 512MB and 80GIG ram, will slow down because of the leopard? should i be worried and get more memory instead of 512 get 1GIG, or should i notice no slowness of speed compared to my current os x tiger operating system.


thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blazer
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1114
Location: San Ramon, California

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:16 pm    Post subject: Re: will it slow my mac mini leopard? Reply with quote

mr miyagi wrote:
hi
sorry if this post is in the wrong part of this forum. However i am concerned that my mac mini which is 1.83Ghz intel core duo and has only 512MB and 80GIG ram, will slow down because of the leopard? should i be worried and get more memory instead of 512 get 1GIG, or should i notice no slowness of speed compared to my current os x tiger operating system.


thanks in advance


Will it run? Yes. But 512MB isn't going to be sufficient with Leopard once you get rolling. I would suggest moving to at least 1GB, 2GB would be optimal. You will be amazed with the difference in performance. It's well worth the investment.
_________________
1.42GHz Mac mini
2.0GHz Core 2 Duo Mac mini
2.0GHz Core 2 Duo Mac mini (2009)
2.5GHz Core i5 Mac mini (2011)
24" Dell LCD & 42" Sharp TV
EyeTV 250 Plus
1G, 2G, 3G, 4G and 5G iPod nanos
16GB 3G iPhone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyBoy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 3954
Location: West Sussex, South-East England

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blazer is right, and as memory is exceptionally cheap at the moment, now's the time to buy.
_________________
Intel Mini 2.0GHz C2D (4GB/120GB/SuperDrive/10.5.8 ), 120GB WD Passport, Logitech ergo k/b
iPod Touch (32GB, 3rd gen), iPod Shuffle (512MB, 1st gen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yvan256
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 541
Location: Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd say that even with Tiger, 1GB is a must.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TonyMontana
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 1945
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest Onyx 1.8.4b (beta) seems to work fine in 10.5.
I ran it with no apparent problems.
_________________
MacMini 2.0GHz C2D (2009)
MacMini 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo
Dell Mini 10v *OSX 10.6.4*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    123Macmini.com - Forums Forum Index -> 123Macmini.com News and Reviews All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



      

Shop:  Apple Store  |  Refurbished Macs  |  Refurbished iPads  |  MacConnection  |  Mac Mini Vault  |  Other World Computing

MK 1 Studio Mac mini Racks  |  Crucial Mac Memory  |  Top Free Mac Apps  |  Top Paid Mac Apps



123Macmini.com is an independent publication and has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Computer, Inc.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2011 123Macmini.com. All Rights Reserved.